Day 23 ~ 200 Words

Words Cloud 02/01-08/02 2009

Words Cloud 02/01-08/02 2009 (Photo credit: GRwitters)

I embarked on a 200  words a day challenge on July 5th. Here are some things I have learned from the experience:

1. Never ask a question you do not want answered.

2. You can say a lot in 200 words.

3. Sometimes you cannot say enough in 200 words.

4. Most of my new posts will be no longer than 500 – 600 words; some of my previous posts have been 750-800 words and I think that may be a bit long.

5. Writing philosophical posts do not get the most hits or likes, but do garner some of the most interesting comments.

6. I wanted to say so much more in some of my 200 word posts.

7. Sometimes I wanted to say less.

8. I found myself expanding on some of the posts in my answers to the commenters because I could not say everything about the subject in 200 words.

9. I liked the challenge most days.

10. A couple of days I did not like the challenge – sort of like life.

11. I notice that number 3, number 6, and number 8 are saying the same thing in different words.

12. Only two more 200 word challenges left!

Words, words and words

Words, words and words (Photo credit: Arslan)

Published in: on July 28, 2012 at 4:24 pm  Comments (38)  
Tags: , , ,

Quote of the Day # 4

Disney's adaptation of Stephen Slesinger, Inc....

Disney’s adaptation of Stephen Slesinger, Inc.’s Winnie-the-Pooh (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In the mood for an A. A. Milne  Poohism? Have you ever felt like this:

“When you are a Bear of Very Little Brain, and you Think of Things, you find sometimes that a Thing which seemed Thingish inside you is quite different when it gets out into the open and has other people looking at it.”

Published in: on July 28, 2012 at 12:37 pm  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , ,

Day 22 ~ 200 Words

The Las Vegas Strip World of Coca-Cola museum ...

The Las Vegas Strip World of Coca-Cola museum in 2003 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I was too tired to cook tonight, so we ordered two pizzas and cheesy bread and a bottle of Coke. I am waiting for it to be delivered and suffering buyer’s remorse as we speak. The amount of groceries I could have purchased with the money I am wasting on pizza I suppose is not substantial, but it is not a particularly healthy meal.

I have a weakness for Coca Cola and deny myself this elixir most of the time because I know it is not all that good for me—too much sugar–and I read somewhere that it has some mystery ingredients. But pizza just would not be pizza without a Coke or a beer. And I have no beer here except for some Steam Whistle (my youngest son’s favourite) which I find harsh on my ever so delicate palate.

I was supposed to get groceries today, but by the time I got around to it, a storm that was brewing finally down poured and there was lightning and thunder—okay– so I am making excuses…

In summary: TGIF, or as I read in a nephew’s tweet “Thank Buddha It’s Friday”. In celebration I am going to enjoy my transgressions.

Published in: on July 28, 2012 at 12:24 am  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , ,