Day 12 ~ 200 Words

Nancy Kissel during the 2005 trial

Nancy Kissel during the 2005 trial (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My husband thinks he is very clever. And that he has a profoundly wonderful sense of humour. The proof they say, is in the pudding. Unbeknownst to me, he bought me a book and left it in my bookshelf for me to find.  I did not find it for weeks, until one day I was perusing the shelves looking for a little inspiration for my weekly newspaper column (as I had not yet started blogging).

Front and centre, there sat his “gift”. A red coffee table sized book, proclaiming in bold black print “EVIL WIVES”.  I took it out of the shelf and looked it over. Pictures of very unhappy women adorned the front cover. The back cover blurb read: “Nancy Kissel served her investment banker husband a strawberry milkshake laced with drugs, then clubbed him over the head with a statuette.” Some might say that this was overkill, others that it was a job well done.

The book brags that it “focuses on the most horrible crimes ever committed by women.” Hmm, wonder if I can match wits with any of the diabolical widows—I have been saving apple seeds for years….a little arsenic with your beer, dear?

Published in: on July 17, 2012 at 3:23 am  Comments (24)  
Tags: , , , , , ,