A Quote of Great Seriousness

Pen Name

Pen Name (Photo credit: diverter)

I seem to be on a Thanksgiving roll this week, so to continue the tradition, I have decided to quote a source that seems to have endless things to say. Unknown  and his brother Anonymous are so prolific~I seriously do not know how they found the time to comment on everything under the sun. Real soup to nuts guys.

I assume Anonymous and Unknown are male because they probably said a few things that their wives would not have approved of, and could not come up with a nom de plume or pen name  fast enough to cover their (mis)steps.

In honour of  Thanksgiving, Author Unknown had this little ditty up his sleeve and produced it I am sure to much fanfare. I hear Anonymous was jealous that he did not come up with it first. Without further ado:

Thanksgiving Dinner

Thanksgiving Dinner (Photo credit: The Vault DFW)

May your stuffing be tasty
May your turkey be plump,
May your potatoes and gravy
have nary a lump.
May your yams be delicious
and your pies take the prize,
and may your Thanksgiving dinner
stay off your thighs!

I understand that these words have no equals in the annals of literature, and should be praised as bon mots–but I do find the last line  a bit of a cruel way to go into this season of feasting.

I would like to challenge you, dear readers, to coming up with a less cruel way to end Unknown’s little poem, and I will include them in a post on this blog tomorrow.