Slipped Up but Happy 2017 Anyway

I asked if you wanted a blog New Year’s Party and many of you responded positively. But I slipped up. I got busy. And I did not extend an invitation. So I am going to correct that and have a New Year’s party review.

To take part just answer any one or all of my following questions, and let us make the first week of 2017 festive:

  1. Did you make a resolution or two or three? If you did—what is it—or are they? If you did not-Why?
  2. Did you go out New Year’s Eve or Day? Whether you did or did not—how did you celebrate?
  3. Did you see the ball drop? Did the ball drop? I did not see it.
  4. Watched the Queen’s address to Canada on the eve of our 150th She wore a maple leaf and spoke French for part of her message. I understood her French (which means she spoke it slowly and simply). Did you watch?
  5. Did you see our Governor-General give his message in the snow and sleet of Ottawa? I love that guy.
  6. What did you eat and drink? Were you merry?
  7. Any words of advice for 2017?
  8. Did you sing Auld Lang Syne? (or however you spell it)

My answers:

  1. Read more. Can’t mess up this resolution.
  2. party on New Year’s Day.
  3. No did not see it drop
  4. Yes (obviously)
  5. Yes again
  6. Lots of shrimp and white wine. And yes, I was merry.
  7. Have hope.
  8. No.
Published in: on January 2, 2017 at 3:28 pm  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2017/01/02/slipped-up-but-happy-2017-anyway/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love your resolution!!!!

    • I know you are off today–more answers!

      • We’re actually heading to Toronto to take my mom to the train station :). I am in severe reading withdrawal, and I am really looking forward to life getting back to normal!! Ok, here goes:
        1. Yes. I started an exercise program online in the Fall, and I want to continue with that and lose more weight.
        2. Our boys were home and my mom was visiting, so we stayed up watching the festivities on TV on New Years Eve and played games. The boys had to head back home/school on New Years Day so it was just a quiet day for us.
        3. Yes we saw the ball drop, but it was hard for me to stay awake because I am not a night person!!
        4. Saw part of it.
        5. Saw part of it.
        6. We were supposed to go out for dinner and a movie, but it was snowing so badly and the roads were so horrible that we just went to a small restaurant in our town for dinner. We had a great time and went home stuffed!
        7. Concentrate on what is positive in your life and try not to dwell on the horrible things going on in the world. In other words stop watching the news and look around you and appreciate what you have.
        8. Nope

        There LouAnn, is that better? 😃

      • there is my girl–beautiful reply-got a bunch of books for Christmas so am in seventh heaven. Like your resolution–saw pics of your game night–looked like fun!

      • Yayyy to new books :). I got an autographed copy of the new 20th anniversary illustrated edition of Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. It is now my most treasured book!

  2. 1. First time I make a resolution.
    Our friend’s David Thursday morning posts inspiration quote by Huxley, “Lightly child, lightly.”
    2. Did not go out. We never do.
    We celebrate with a good meal.
    3. Didn’t see the ball drop. Didn’t watch anything on TV relating to new years. Only Avec Ripert on Netflix and Kubo. Loved Kubo.
    4. Did not watch the queen.
    5. Did not see our governor-general.
    6. Cooked a roasted leg of lamb, side of Greek potatoes, shrimp cocktail, and crab avocado salad. My 12 year old made the most decadent chocolate mousse for dessert.
    Bottle of Malbec from a client in Argentina.
    Very Merry, yes.
    7. Advice? Love more, do right.
    8. No.

    Happy New Year Lou Ann.

    • Happy New Year to you too! Love your meal–wish I had been there to share. Love your advice–no better words for 2017

      • 💕

  3. Happy new Year Lou! I did not make a resolution. We made a short trip next door for NYE festivities, dined on raclette cheese, scallops, shrimp, beef tenderloin, boiled potatoes, red peppers and zucchini, and creme brûlée for dessert. And some lovely wine to wash it all down. We did not see the ball drop, did see the queen and Governor General. My advice, mostly to myself, is to judge less, accept more. Did not sing ALS. But did a little jig to Bruno Mars “24 Karat”.

    • a jig–what a wonderful way to bring in the new year! wish I could have been with you!

  4. 1. No New Year resolution.
    2. Stay healthy and happy. Do things you enjoy.

  5. As you know I’m pretty boring. No resolutions. Didn’t watch anything from the ball to the Queen to the Governor General. Dinner consisted of sloppy joes. Was in bed & asleep by 11:15. As for advice you know I will have plenty of it as the year goes by, so I won’t try to sum it up for you now. Lol. And lastly I did not sing as that is a very scary thing. Happy, happy New Year my friend. See you soon.

  6. I have New Year’s intentions, those count right? One of them is to write more, specifically creative writing. Another is to get into different creative pursuits OTHER than writing. I signed up for an online calligraphy class last month so now it’s just a matter of finishing those lessons and continuing to practice! For NYE, I went around to a few bars in San Francisco with a friend and then ended the night counting down the seconds at a pizza place. It was a much better way to celebrate than getting squished in big (and likely semi-drunk) crowds. Happy New Year!

  7. Interesting, is all I have to say

  8. No resolutions and no ball drop but a wonderful 4 day break at home. Lovely!
    Happy New year!

  9. Happy 2017, LouAnn! 😉 xoM

  10. Love your resolution. Did not see ball drop either. Happy New Year LouAnn

  11. 1. No
    2. No
    3. No
    4. No
    5. No
    6. No
    7. No
    8. No

    Happy 2017 😜

  12. I thought that you were just busy like everyone, so not surprised when you didn’t have the ‘party’

    No resolutions except to go forward into the new year and meet each challenge if there are any….

    We did nothing NY Eve but we did watch the ball drop… then went to bed. Had NY Day dinner with some company. Turkey and wine!

    It was a really nice day.

    Didn’t sing ‘Auld Ang Syne’ ….. It sometimes makes me sad.. don’t know why!
    Diane

  13. 1. My resolution is to connect more with my friends and family and not hold back on my creativity. And ‘ditto’ to your resolution to ‘read more’.
    2. Stayed at home and watched the 25th Anniversary production of Les Miserables on DVD. Then at midnight watched the Sydney Harbour (Australia) fireworks on TV. Then hit the sack.
    3. No didn’t see the ball drop. But I dropped the ball 10 mins after midnight and went to bed.
    4. No.
    5. No.
    6. Had a glass of wine with dinner (around 7.00 p.m. Australia EST) to toast in the New Year – got in before anyone else!
    7. Follow your dreams and stay safe. And be kind to yourself.
    8. No but sang along with ‘I dream a dream’ from Les Mis – around 9.30 p.m.
    Happy New Year LouAnn. Hic!


Leave a Reply

