On what grounds did I fast from the daily bread of birdsong and starlight?

this is the inspiration behind my newspaper column this week….

Live & Learn

barbara-brown-taylor

Sixty-hour weeks were normal, hovering closer to eighty during the holidays. Since my job involved visiting parishioners in hospitals and nursing homes on top of a heavy administrative load, the to-do list was never done. More often, I simply abandoned it when I felt my mind begin to coast like a car out of gas. Walking outside of whatever building I had been in, I was often surprised by how warm the night was, or how cold.

I was so immersed in indoor human dramas that I regularly lost track of the seasons. When a fresh breeze lifted the hairs on my neck, I had to stop and think, Does that wind signal the end of spring or the beginning of autumn? What month is this? What year, for that matter? In the ICU, nurses wrote details like these on blackboards to help their dazed patients hang on to reality…

View original post 228 more words

Published in: on September 23, 2016 at 11:30 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2016/09/23/on-what-grounds-did-i-fast-from-the-daily-bread-of-birdsong-and-starlight/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

