The New Demon

 

 

Just finished reading an article on the new enemy that is taking Canada and most of North America by storm. It is apparently the new evil in our lives. Move over salt and fat and eggs, sugar is here to join you as the new forbidden food.  Fat and eggs have been redeemed somewhat—it seems it is okay to eat eggs again as long as you do not eat half a dozen in a sitting, and fat is getting a bit of a break as long as it is not the dreaded trans fat. The jury is still out on salt though.

My immediate family (my husband and two sons) LOVE salt. I cannot eat off their plates as their food is saturated with the stuff—which I use judiciously in my cooking and on sliced tomatoes, French fries, and corn on the cob. They use salt with little caution and without care. I try not to take it personally that they have to coat my cooking with the white stuff to make it edible to their seemingly salt-starved palates.

While I am somewhat cautious in my salt use, sugar is my nemesis. I seem to have acquired a sweet tooth that has made itself known more intensely as time goes on. I used to put up to three teaspoons of sugar into my cup of coffee—but quit cold turkey a couple of years ago. Now I have become a much more avid tea drinker, as I have never taken sugar in my tea. I am guessing that while the aroma and idea of a coffee are still pleasing, the taste without sugar is not. I now drink about a half a cup a day. I am proud to say I have not given in to adding sugar to my coffee again, but I would be lying if I did not say I am still tempted.

I love sugar in its many forms. Its voice calls out to me when I need comforting but more and more research has led to some ominous conclusions. Here are just a few from the website body ecology. Writer Donna Gates says that:

            Sugar promotes wrinkling and aging skin, makes your blood acidic, can lead to osteoporosis, rots your teeth, raises your blood sugar level, contributes to obesity, can be addictive (jury still out on this one), provides empty calories with no nutritional value, contributes to diabetes, robs your body of minerals, robs you of energy, contributes to heart problems, can cause cancer, contributes to ulcers, can cause gallstones, raises serotonin, weakens eyesight, can cause low blood sugar levels, contributes to aging, feeds candida, and can cause arthritis.

Now truth be told this list came from an article touting stevia as an alternative sweetener, so while its claims are true, the degree of truth is something we have to discern for ourselves. But we have to face it: there is really no denying the fact that too much of a good thing can be terrible for our health.

I have taken steps to lower the amount of the demon called sugar in my diet, but I do give in to the occasional non-diet beverage, empty calories and all. I have declared the weekend my sweet spot, when I may eat a few things that contain white death but in a more moderate amount than I used to. At one time I used to eat four cookies, now I eat one or two. And I find that a bite or two of a rich dessert satisfies my sweet tooth while much more just leaves me feeling guilty.

“Guilt is a great motivator” my husband often says (and I must say there are times I have used it to motivate him—sometimes with more success than others) but I do find that a little well placed guilt keeps me on a more sugarless path.

There are only so many things that we have control over, and what we put in our mouths is one of them, although sometimes it is governed by the way we feel. I have learned the hard way not to go grocery shopping when I am hungry, but I have also learned that saying yes on occasion to a few of my sugary treats keeps me in line the majority of time.

I hope that some study finds that sugar is good for you just like they have come to the conclusion that eggs are good for you and we need some fat in our diet. Until then, I will not be adding sugar to my morning coffee. I believe that back in the day, two coffees with six teaspoons of sugar contained my allotment for the day. I can think of better ways to disperse my allotment….

Published in: on June 9, 2016 at 7:57 pm  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2016/06/09/the-new-demon/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sugar is in chocolate, and I will never give up chocolate, so I say that study can take a flying leap!! 🙂

  2. I like salt and sugar…..I’m doomed!

  3. Salt, Sugar – an addicted to both white powders. Can’t get enough of either.

  4. I have no sweet tooth, rarely add salt to food except a fried egg or sliced raw tomatoes

  5. I read this post while enjoying a chocolate donut, LouAnn. I’ve found sugar, especially in the form of Oreo cookies, totally addictive. Those are like crack/cocaine for me and the only way to combat that demon is by just not bringing it into the house since I think a one-pound package is a single serving!

    Having seen the ebbs and flows of “good for you” and “bad for you,” I hew to my moderation in all things, motto. Even chocolate (sigh). Gave up the 5-lb “single-servings” to the occasional 5-oz shared with my already sweet husband, lol! xoxoM

    • I read you comment while eating birthday cake–no sugar in there! I think of sugar as a necessary evil!

      • Yeah… I stop at just “necessary.” lol

  6. I mean, everything in moderation right? Given that my work is all about helping people get healthy to avoid chronic diseases, this post definitely struck a tone with me but in all the right ways. Some people can quit cold turkey (like you did with sugar in your coffee, nicely done!) but it’s really about making small adjustments that you can live with. I also have a mean sweet tooth but given that I don’t normally eat them, when I indulge, I also find that just a little bit is enough to satisfy. But if I have dessert too many times in a row, it does get addicting and I have to consciously tell myself to stop before it gets out of control.

  7. My husband has a FEARCE sweet tooth. He would totally relate to this post. I lean more towards salt and carbs. Give me a crusty piece of french bread shattered in butter over a piece of chocolate cake any day!

  8. I’m a big believer in moderation, and have never subscribed to major restriction of any food category. I tell my patients the same.
    Just sayin’ …

  9. Sigh…..I think we are related. It’s a true battle not to indulge.


Leave a Reply

