Songs of the Season

 

“I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas……………”
It is unusually warm for this time of year. And I for one, am basking in it. Don’t get me wrong—I love the white stuff at Christmas, but it is not necessary to have snow on the ground for me to get into the spirit. I think living in the southernmost part of Canada, we are used to green Christmases. In the last few years we have been experiencing real Canadian winters—winters that we can brag about getting through, but I am just as happy with the tropical winter we are having so far.

“Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire……”
This is my all-time favourite Christmas tune, but never once in my life have I roasted chestnuts on an open fire. Or, to add to that—have I ever seen chestnuts roasting on an open fire. But little does that matter—it is the essence of the season, and who am I to question its validity. I have roasted chestnuts in my oven, marking them with the requisite X so they do not explode, and enjoyed the meat of the warm nut fresh out of the oven. That is close enough for me…

“Rocking Around The Christmas Tree…..”
I have never, not once, rocked around the Christmas tree—unless of course that means dancing in the vicinity of one, then yes, I have rocked around the Christmas tree. I remember this song from my youth—but even then it had been around for a while in those days when the dinosaurs roamed the earth. This song always brings me back to those innocent Coca-Cola, potato chip with onion dip parties that I was lucky enough to attend. No, I was not one of the cool kids. What was your first hint?

“And So This is Christmas…..”
I so do not want to be hard-hearted, but when this song was taken over with graphics that tore at my heart, it was ruined for me forever. I used to like this Beatles tune, but all I can see now when I hear the song are the sad and hungry faces of lost and sick children. Yes, it makes me want to help them. But it makes me so sad…..

“I Saw Mummy Kissing Santa Claus……”
Am I too delicate a being or is this song slightly nightmarish? First of all, no one wants to see their mom kiss someone other than their dad. And second of all, if dad is Santa, then all belief in Santa is ruined. On so many levels, this song is just wrong. And speaking of wrong………..

“Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer….”
Okay, whose brilliant idea was this song? This is not funny. No one wants their grandma run over by a reindeer……. I would have been devastated if either of my grandmas (may they rest in peace) had a run-in with a reindeer.

“Jingle Bells, jingle bells……”
If I never hear the dog barking rendition of this little ditty again, it would be too soon. I know that last sentence makes no sense, but even thinking of the way this childhood favourite has been reduced to dribbling drivel makes me senseless………….

Good King Wenceslas
I love this unlikely Christmas carol just because of the King’s name. Every time I hear it sung Wenceslas is pronounced in a uniquely different fashion. By the way, it was written in 1853 by John Mason Neale and is about the King of Bohemia circa the 10th century. Who knew? (Source: http://www.carol.org.uk).

Silver Bells
This was my mom’s favourite Christmas carol, hence it is mine. Every time I hear it I can hear her sing it when she thought no one was around. She also whistled the tune beautifully (as did my dad.) Whistling seems to be a lost to our parents’ generation.

“All I Want For Christmas is You….”
Love the sentiment of this song and it reminds me of my favourite seasonal movie “Love Actually.” Just read a review of the movie by someone who hated it—they still couldn’t spoil it for me. Plot holes and all…….

Silent Night
The most sacred of all Christmas carols to my mind. So simple. So Christmas.

O Holy Night
The other most sacred of all Christmas carols. Less simple, but still so Christmas.

What is your favourite Christmas song or carol? Least favourite? Most sacred?

Published in: on December 15, 2015 at 4:41 pm  Comments (20)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2015/12/15/songs-of-the-season/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. O Holy Night has always been my favorite, especially the version sung by The Tenors. A close second would be the Little Drummer Boy (Pentatonix version) Merry Christmas to you!

  2. I thought the jingle bells sung by the dogs was pretty good.

  3. I’ve known 3 white Christmases in my 60 odd years
    For 40 of those years I’ve had to tolerate Bohemian Rhapsody.
    Bah! Humbug

    • I believe I have known a few more than that–but it does not matter all that much to me. Hope you are getting through the season–I know it is not your favorite,

      • I have brought my special bobble hat out of its hideyhole. It’s black, with a white headband. On the headband is written, ‘Bah! Humbug!’
        I’ll live. Thanks for your concern. I have a lot of people pulling for me but another never goes amiss. 🙂

  4. Funny post Lou! So many Christmas songs and hymns I love, hard to nail just one down…..We Three Kings of Orient Are, one of my favs.

  5. Oh, it’s so Silent Night….

    • why does that not surprise me–you seem like a Silent Night kind of guy (which is a high compliment if you are wondering)

  6. I love so many of them that I can’t pick just one :). 10 days left!!!!!

    • 10 days left when you sent this–now just eight and I still have most of my shopping to do

  7. Your comments about the songs had me giggling to myself on the train but I wholeheartedly agree with you about some of those. “Grandma got run over by a reindeer”….the first time I heard it I was confused and thought they were trying to be ironic. My favorite is “chestnuts roasting on an open fire” as well! Just makes me feel all warm and cozy inside hearing it. Hope you’re ready for the holiday season because I definitely am!
    PS. I’ve missed visiting you, feels good to check in and read your posts. 🙂

    • So glad to hear from you, especially at this time of year. We have so much in common–except one thing–I am not totally ready for the holiday season–still have most of my shopping ahead of me. Oh well, it gets done every year; it will get done this year! In the meantime I wish you the best holiday season ever–

  8. O Little Town of Bethlehem is one of my favourites. I wonder if it will be even more so after we visit Bethlehem in late January? It wouldn’t bother me at all if I never heard The Twelve Days of Christmas again!

  9. All I Want For Christmas … also reminds me of Love Actually, and I really liked that movie. Hugh Grant rocks in that.


Leave a Reply

