Bewitched

“I love witches and magic and dress-up and make-believe.”
– Helena Bonham Carter

We are entering the lightly veiled zone this week, the dimension between this reality and the next. Like Helena in the above quote, I love witches and magic and dress-up and make-believe. So it follows that these are the elements I like best about Halloween. And, oh yes, those tiny bite-size chocolate bars are not a bad by-product of the season either.

I think witches are totally misunderstood, though I am much more comfortable with Samantha from the old sitcom Bewitched than I am her mother Endora. But I must admit there were times when Samantha was a bit too sweet and Endora saved the day with her edginess which made her exceedingly entertaining. Endora embodied the witch of fables, while Samatha in her quest to do no harm, was a witch of more modern day ethics.

Yoko Ono agrees with me that witches are misunderstood. Although we have not had a personal conversation about the phenomenon, I am privy, through the magic of the Internet and the site brainyquote.com to her thoughts. She is credited with saying, “I think that there is an incredible prejudice about witches while there is no prejudice about wizards.” (She is probably of the same mind when it comes to business when assertive men are seen as manly and commanding, and assertive women as something that rhymes with witch.)

I must say though that one of my favourite quotes of all times is seemingly attributed to a glamorous rendition of the Wicked Witch of the West. She appeared on my Facebook page about a week ago, dressed in striped leotards, pink sparkly high heels, and holding a cocktail of unknown origins (perhaps witches brew topped up with vodka?) in her beautifully manicured hand. She said, and I quote quite gleefully: “You know it’s been a good day when I didn’t have to unleash the flying monkeys.” (thanks Sarah)

I admit that this does perpetuate a certain prejudice about witches, but I love the power in those words. She could have unleashed the flying monkeys, but she didn’t because she had no need to. Now this was a discerning witch—not one that would melt with the mere tossing of little bucket of water on her by some bratty girl having a dream (sorry Wizard of Oz and Dorothy – but you must admit Dorothy did get a bit annoying in her quest to go home and her eternal mouthing of the platitude: “There’s no place like home, there’s no place like home…”)

It is those self-same monkeys though that have been the basis of many a nightmare, so, even though I love the quote, it does bring back memories I would much prefer to forget. If anything embodies the dark side of Halloween, it is those screeching muscular winged primates. On one hand they would be handy to have in your tool box when confronted with some of life’s less palatable people, but with power comes responsibility, and I am none too fussy about having a house land on me, or a bucket of cold water thrown in my face.

This year I have taken the witch theme to heart in decorating my house for Halloween. Over my front window I have draped a string of witch’s hats, and in the middle of the window I have placed a sign which reads: “The Witch is In.” Living in a household of males, I find that there are times that I must put them on alert as to my powers. To punctuate my message I have hung a big silk-like witch’s hat complete with black veils and roses beside a pair of green and black striped socks—just to make sure that I will have no need to unleash the flying monkeys (which in my case is merely metaphorical).

The males in my family have found that taming any propensity I have to unleashing my winged monkeys means throwing a few chocolate bars my way with maybe a piece of cherry liquorice thrown in for good measure.

Wishing you all a Halloween filled with your favourite confections and cute little ghoulies and ghosties and long-legged beasties at your door.

What are you giving out for Halloween this year?

Published in: on October 28, 2015 at 1:41 pm  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2015/10/28/bewitched/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think there has always been prejudice about witches,and a tendency to group both black and white magic together with no understanding of the difference.

  2. I know you will find this hard to believe (LOL), but I once played the Wicked Witch of the West in a school play many years ago, and I was scary as hell :). Maybe because of that I have always loved novels about witches and magic. I think you should post a picture of your decorated house and throw some mini chocolate bars my way. Good idea right?

  3. Wow, your place sounds be’witching’! The kids will love it. Living in a mobile home park with very few families with children, we’ll be lucky to get 10 kids, so we’ve learned from the past two years, not to buy a lot of goodies… basically this year it’s chocolate bars! Diane

  4. Halloween was never really something I enjoyed all that much, once I was past trick-or-treating age. Of course, nowadays you have people using it as an excuse to go bar/club hopping and get completely wasted but me? Call me a grandma, but I think I’ll just stay home and indulge in the discounted chocolate I found at the supermarket the other day. And I second the idea to post pictures of your decorated house! 🙂

  5. The title of this post made me think of that show, I really liked that show and I always wanted to be a witch that was a bit of Samantha and a bit of Endora

  6. Love your window decor….and the warning to the men in the family! Keep your witch’s hat handy and display it when you need to assert your powers…..hehehe👻

  7. Sadly, I live in the middle of nowhere so I miss this fun completely.

    • we do not get many trick or treaters anymore either–much differen than when my kids were little

      • Even my nephews have given it up. My brother used to have the best decorations on the block.


Leave a Reply

