My Truth

She is my soul sister–my life is a “zigzag” t00 – in fact “zigzag” is my magic word……………

Live & Learn

abigail-thomas

My editor turned it down. She wanted me to write a novel about that marriage, what went wrong, what went right, then friendship, illness, and death. But life doesn’t arrange itself conveniently into chapters – not mine, anyway. And I didn’t want to write a novel. My life didn’t feel like a novel. It felt like a million moments. I didn’t want to make anything fit together. I didn’t want to make anything up. I didn’t want it to make sense the way I understand a novel to make a kind of sense. I didn’t want anywhere to hide. I didn’t want to be able to duck. I wanted the shock of truth. I wanted moments that felt like body blows. I wanted moments of pure hilarity, connected to nothing that came before or after. I wanted it to feel like the way I’ve lived my life. And I wanted…

View original post 41 more words

Published in: on September 11, 2015 at 12:25 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2015/09/11/my-truth/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

