I need a belief system

This is wonderful and a great addition even if you already have a belief system………….

Live & Learn

sleep-rest-light-sun-woman

Heather Havrilesky, Like a Prayer:

I don’t believe in God, but I need some kind of a prayer to repeat when things go haywire. I need a prayer because, as a writer with several unruly dependents under my roof, each day is a rollercoaster, a crapshoot, an exercise in uncertainty.

[…]

See how the tiniest events can shift the barometer just enough to stir up a storm? My buoyant mood sinks. The day that felt so full of promise sags, landing in a haze of exhaustion and niggling worries by the time I crawl into bed.

I need a belief system. I need a morning ritual. I need to say some bold and glorious words out loud at the start of the day, to remind myself who I am and what I’m doing and what the point of it all is. Unfortunately, I don’t like saying bold and glorious words…

View original post 266 more words

Published in: on March 22, 2015 at 2:13 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2015/03/22/i-need-a-belief-system/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you this post was wonderful


Leave a Reply

