Betrayal

This is what I wrote for a writers’ workshop I attended last night. The topic was betrayal:

Betrayal can be subtle. It does not have to mean unfaithfulness, infidelity, or duplicity. It can be in the simple things. The blue veins in my hands betray my age. Unlike Madonna who now wears gloves to hide her blue cords, mine have surfaced with no anonymity.

People who have not seen me for decades declare “You look the same”—but I know they are being kind. I do not look the same. I do not need to list how I have changed—in case you have not noticed—but I tend to keep a half smile on my face so it does not fall into the frown of old age. I do not always remember, thus I betray myself.

As we get older, our bodies betray us. Aches and pains become daily companions. Skin wrinkles. Hair turns grey. Weight needs to be watched. But this is a betrayal that has a happy ending at least for the time being. I am still alive to turn grey and wrinkled and hobble about. So far I am winning the race against my disloyal body.

Published in: on March 5, 2015 at 11:13 am  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2015/03/05/betrayal/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes, everyday it is a new surprise, or at least so it seems. But, surpises make life exciting.

  2. I love the ending – a good, positive attitude LouAnn :). We will always be young at heart won’t we?

  3. The race is kicking my ass.

  4. A concept of ‘betrayal’ that doesn’t come immediately to mind… but I can certainly identify … Diane

  5. I can’t keep up, so I am just letting it happen, much easier to just go with the effects of aging……do what I can to stay healthy and surrender to the aging process.

  6. No longer waiting here for the betrayals of aging. The solution is to simply avoid mirrors and then I will always be 18. 🙂

  7. Lou, your powers of observation are quite astonishing at times. This is so beautifully written. And I so understand every word. Whatever class you are taking is only adding to your well-developed craft.

    Funny you mentioned Madonna. When I saw her do some performance one night, I told hubby that I think women are more beautiful when they age gracefully. I’m sure she has her reasons for holding on to youth. I’m trying very hard to practice what I preach! The way you ended this post was perfection.

    • I am taking this class with my husband because he wants to write too–but I am quite enjoying it
      Thanks for the compliments–they mean so much coming from an accomplished writer and wonderful friend

  8. What a great representation of betrayal, one that I would haven’t thought of as subject matter! ❤
    Diana xo

  9. Not a form of betrayal I would have thought of, LouAnn, and you make an eloquent case. Made me look at my hands! lol xoxoM

  10. You are indeed winning the race. Although growing older is not always fun & games – I do appreciate each & every day. As for the grey – natural highlights. 😉

  11. Great writing, LouAnn. Ahhh, betrayal. Seems to be part of living, doesn’t it? None of us are getting out of here alive, said someone. Thus, we will probably be feeling betrayed…


Leave a Reply

