Beginnings: 2015

“Beginnings can be delicate or explosive. They can start almost invisibly or arrive with a big bang. Beginnings hold the promise of new lessons to be learned, new territory to be explored, and old lessons to be recalled, practiced, and appreciated.”

These are the wickedly wise words of Melody Beattie from her book, “Daily Meditations on the Path to Freeing Your Soul”. They are strategically placed under the title of ‘Honour the Beginning’ and notated in her January 1st entry.

I cannot agree with her more. Beginnings do not necessarily have to start at the first of a New Year, but they are so metaphorically appropriate that I cannot help but be persuaded to have faith and hope in the New Year.

Last night I went to bed with the pessimistic attitude that this year will be no different; that it will be no better or worse than last year; and that things are not necessarily in my control.

Today though I am determined to take back control, with the understanding that all things are not within my power—that I have to let some things go (as in the immortal words of the movie Frozen hit tune “Let It Go”) and shake “it” off (thank you Taylor Swift)—“it” being my pessimistic forecast for the year.

In seven words, Melody sums up what the New Year holds. She says: “Beginnings hold ambiguity, promise, fear, and hope.” She has conjured up a recipe of ingredients, which if shaken (not stirred) foreshadow the year ahead. I will grasp promise and hold onto hope knowing that there will be trials ahead. Trials I have to face; trials I must wrangle with; and trials that will be won.

I am nothing if not pragmatic. I know that with wins there will be losses. With triumphs there will be failure. With success will come mistakes. But if you adhere to author Neil Gaiman’s philosophy, mistakes are our way of moving forward. His hope for the New Year is summed up in these words:

“I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes. Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re doing something.”

This New Year, I want to do something, and if in doing so I make mistakes, then I will look at them as the prelude to change. And I will start looking at change as not a bad thing—but something to celebrate; something to adjust to; and in that adjustment become more evolved. Growing is not something we should give up when we have reached our height—we should continue the growth to our very depths.

Staying static is the enemy. Letting it go, and shaking it off are good advice. Even if that advice comes from a runaway movie or pop star.

(Thanks to Cindy Guest Taylor, photosfromtheloonybin, for the Neil Gaiman quote.)

Do you have any advice for the New Year that may sound clichéd but is very sensible in its roots?

Published in: on January 1, 2015 at 7:04 pm  Comments (27)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2015/01/01/beginnings-2015/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s true there are events we can’t control ~ but we can control how we react to them. Letting go works best when we’re the ones holding the reins.

  2. I appreciate the advice you’ve posted here, LouAnn. I hope to move house this year, very much a new beginning for me and my daughter—we are looking forward to it immensely 🙂 Happy New Year 🙂 x

  3. Though we’ve said it very differently, I see a lot of similarity between this post and the one I wrote last night. I’ve always said we are kindred spirits and I look forward to reading about the directions your life takes in 2015. Happy New Year!

    • I went back and read your blog post and it is similar to mine in many ways–I hope that you do not have as many trials this year–you have the perfect attitude–and I agree with you–we are kindred spirits! Happy 2015

  4. I am not fond of Neil Gaiman as an author, but that is some sound advice. I’m all for trying new things, and lately I’ve been sticking with it almost every day. It has opened all sorts of doors for me and I actually feel very accomplished and content.

    So I will echo his advice – try new things! Whether a new recipe or an author you’ve never heard of, you never know what could happen. 🙂

    Happy new year! 😀

    • I don’t know him as an author but I do love his advice–makes life a little bit easier knowing that failure is part and parcel

  5. I’m so glad you enjoyed the Neil Gaiman quote as much as I did. Here’s to tons of mistakes in 2015. LOL!!

  6. Oh my goodness, I LOVE that Neil Gaiman quote. So true. I intend to screw up something new every day. Happy New Year!

  7. I’m inspired! Great post….

  8. It’s that dilemma between fixed and flowing? Not sure!

  9. Happy 2015!

    I say – One day – one breath at a time & am thankful for each one. This is something I try hard to live by – especially since my brother passed away over 12 years ago at the age of 25. Life s full of ups & downs. But – I try to not let the downs take over my life. With our days not guaranteed – I’d rather not dwell & waste my time on them.

    {Hugs}

    • good advice–so sorry about your brother but you seem to have reached some peace about it

  10. I would say that while we cannot I don’t believe ever totally forget the past, we need to try and learn from it, and move forward and grab on to all the hope and happiness we can find, and make the most of every day….(I’m going to try and follow my own advice) Diane

  11. I like the idea of trying something new regularly, I hope to follow some of the inspiring advice given in these very posts. Thanks to you and your bloggers, I am continually learning.😊

    • I like that idea too–to be continually learning is to live to its fullest

  12. Some great advise. I have hope that this year will be great. I am planning on there being less change and uncertainty (ha – can one plan on less uncertainty??). I am not one for New Year resolutions but I do feel that clean-slate sense, that time for reflection on what worked and what didn’t. I think it helps to guide and steer me in where I think I would like to end up. Fluid. That is what I will try to be. And perhaps I will sing a little louder and dance a little more wildly whenever I hear Shake it Off this year. 🙂

  13. Very inspirational! I love the three quotes! Keep posting! 🙂


Leave a Reply

