You Are Invited: New Year’s Party

We’ll Take a Cup of Kindness Yet………….

It is that time of the year again—I am reinstating my New Year’s Blog Party, but this year we are going to be a little more sedate (there will still be table dancing if Robin sees this though).

All you have to do to join the party is Toast the New Year in some fashion or other. It could be with a resolution, a toast, a song, a favourite book, even a recipe for a killer appetizer.

We have become old acquaintances over the years, and with that in mind, and the tune of Auld Lang Syne looping nonstop through our brains, I say “Let’s get this party started!” on the eve before New Year’s Eve and continue on into the new year.

To get you started here is ~

My resolution: to be “the greater fool” as defined in the HBO series “The Newsroom”. According to the character Sloan Sabbith “The greater fool is actually an economic term. It’s a patsy. For the rest of us to profit, we need a greater fool— someone who will buy long and sell short. Most people spend their life trying not to be the greater fool; we toss him the hot potato, we dive for his seat when the music stops. The greater fool is someone with the perfect blend of self-delusion and ego to think that he can succeed where others have failed. This whole country was made by greater fools.”

A song: Anything by James Taylor

My toast: (stolen from Wallace Irwin) “I used to know a clever toast, but pshaw! I cannot think of it—so fill your glass to anything, and bless your souls~ I’ll drink to it.”

My favourite book of the year: “The Temporary Wife” written by Jennifer Klinec. An excellent book by a girl who literally lived just down the road from me.

Killer Appetizer: a round of brie spread with blueberry jam heated in the microwave for less than a minute—served on crackers with a glass of Freixnet or Cooper’s Hawk rose.

I am looking forward to hearing from you……………

Published in: on December 30, 2014 at 5:23 pm  Comments (26)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/12/30/you-are-invited-new-years-party/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My toast is “Here’s to 2015 full of promises, opportunities and hope… all we need to do is grab hold of them:

    My resolution is to do what my ‘toast’ said… and to always let the people that are special,,,,, know that they are ‘special’ Diane

    • sounds like one of the best resolutions around–you cannot go wrong with promise, opportunity and hope

  2. To add to your fabulous appetizer: a deconstructed bruschetta (which I stole from an Italian restaurant near my house). Fresh tomatoes, basil, a bit of parmesan, and some toasted garlic bread to go with it.

    My resolution is to stay optimistic even in the face of ambiguity and take chances.

    Happy New Year! 🙂

    • yum–sounds wonderful and I love your resolution — it is determined and I think you are going to do it with style–Happy happy New Year my young friend

  3. Here’s to a new year full of firsts – my youngest will be starting his first year of university and my oldest will be graduating from college and looking for his first job. That means Mikey and I will be empty nesters for the first time.

    My resolution this year is the same as it is every year – I really need to lose some weight. I’m determined to do it in 2015!!!

    Now, let’s talk books. Two of my favourite books of 2014 which I challenge all of you to read are The Enchanted by Rene Denfeld and Bird Box by Josh Malerman. Bird Box is a little scary and freaky, but it is amazing!!! And if you haven’t read The All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness I guarnantee it will be one of the best series you have ever read!

    I’m off to Kingston tomorrow to see my family, so Happy New Year to everyone!

    • Happy New Year Cindy–love your book choices and will put them on my list
      I was an empty nester for a while but not now–and have to say I am not looking forward to it when it happens again–but we must move on too–good luck in the New Year

  4. A toast to all my friends and family… Good health and happiness!
    My resolution: To enjoy each day, to spend more time with friends and family, and to get back to blogging/writing again.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR…. LouAnn….looking forward to partying with you!

    • let us party hardy–at least on the blog–love your resolution–it is one I think I will adopt too–Happy New Year my friend!

  5. Hi Lou, here is a delicious appetizer from Ina Garten….take 1 1/2 lbs. mozzarella or fontina cheese, cut into cubes and place in a cast iron fry pan, sprinkle 1/4 c. Olive oil over the cheese along with 6 garlic cloves, sliced, 1 tsp. each of thyme, rosemary, salt and pepper. Pop it under the broiler for a few minutes until bubbly and a little brown. Slather it on baguette slices. Yumm! As far as a resolution, still working on that! Happy New year to all. Cheers!

  6. Here’s to living in the moment, remembering that sometimes all one has to do is breathe and loving all the spaces in between…Happy New Year my twin from another mother!

    • I will remember your advice twin sis–and a Happy happy New year to you and yours

  7. I’m in! Happy New Year!

    • Come back with your resolution or favourite song or book or whatever–and if you don’t make it back–Happy New Year David!

  8. Happy New Year! We don’t have a song for the party this year, but if we did, it would have been great! Couldn’t let the party slip by without stopping by though. I don’t have any offerings under your headings, but I’ll have a taste of the appetizers that are being touted, they sound yum! 🙂

    • Happy New Year Vanessa-Jane–glad you stopped by because it wouldn’t be the same without you–you are more than welcome to some appetizers and champagne!

  9. For those snowbound Baby Boomers staying in like me, how about two Rock ‘n’ Roll documentaries on TV tonight? Elvis on Tour from way back before his Vegas days when he was so beautiful, and an early Rolling Stones feature from their flower-child era. And a toast to my younger self!

    • Here is a toast to your wonderful self today–cheers Mary and thanks for the suggestions.

  10. Thank you, Lou. Myself (then and now) still loves to rock. How’s the New Year’s party at your house?

  11. Happy New Year!! I see some great appetizers on the table! Toasting all our blogging friends, old and new.

    • I will drink to that–and since it is the morning of the first day of 2015 it will be coffee

  12. Happy New Year Lou Ann…. 😉 Diane

  13. I’m a bit late to this party – however, for what it’s worth – a couple of ideas I’ll try to keep in the front of my mind this year, this day, this moment, with a bit of luck:

    . Taking a breath before I speak or draw conclusions or continue

    In Hawaii, non-native Hawaiians are occasionally called haoles – so I’m a haole (pronounced howlie, I think) and Hawaiians see haoles as people who never take a breath before they speak (according to a friend of mine who’s visited a number of times) and they’d do well to simply take a breath and enjoy the calmness that may ensue.

    . A quotation from Rabbi Hillel (or so I’m told):

    I get up. I walk. I fall down. Meanwhile, I keep dancing.

    In any case small steps, tiny weeny ones, to new and excellent habits 🙂

    • thank you for your ideras–I shall work on taking a breath (or two) before I put my foot in my mouth and keep dancing


Leave a Reply

