Imagined Freedom

Pragmatically foolish
She cut her long hair
Wet strands fell to the floor
After they dried she gathered up the auburn tresses
and
unceremoniously dumped them in the garbage.
She stuck her tongue out at her reflection in the mirror
Turned on her heels
And fled the bathroom
With its hair dryer, hair curlers, curling iron, and hair brush ~
All she needed was a comb now.

Published in: on May 27, 2014 at 2:17 pm  Comments (18)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/imagined-freedom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Autobiographical?? Made me smile.

  2. I have a friend who can relate exactly. A perfect description 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. A little change can do wonders!

  4. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought of doing this exact thing! Freedom indeed.

  5. Cutting long hair short does feel good. Change is needed, sometimes.

    My husband kindly pointed out the high percentage of grey on my head the other day. I like the thought of auburn. Maybe I should make a change soon.

    • I have let my hair go of late and there is a lot of grey–I am trying to figure out whether to colour it again or let it go

  6. Courage needed to let long hair go like that! Freedom? Scary indeed! 🙂

    • I recently had my hair cut but it is still not too short–not sure if I can ever take the full step…

  7. Nicely described.
    My hair is super short. I don’t even have to use a comb. Towel dry a bit… Run my fingers through it and go. The grays have a mind of their own. No comb will tame them.

    • I want that freedom

      • Do it. It’s awesome and quite freeing 🙂 low maintenance and my dude loves it

      • you may be my inspiration……..

      • 🙂

  8. Clever verse! Love that she stuck her tongue out 🙂
    Good luck as you ponder this decision for yourself


Leave a Reply

