Days Ending

Day 11 of Poetry month–this little ditty is what I like to refer to as a prose poem–

I sit in my red chair (in a corner of the room)
Curled up with a blanket over my legs (an unlikely position for someone my age)
Inhaling popcorn and sipping diet ginger ale (wishing it were full on calorie laden cola)
Watching reruns of West Wing (feeling slightly guilty as it is an American program and I am a red leaf flag waving Canadian)
Conversation hushed (but existentβ€”we do not watch TV in perfect silence)
Time for bed (not before I drink my new concoction of magnesium citrate)
Climb the stairs (to the bathroom and do night-time ablutions)
Crawl into bed and read (until book hits me in the face or I drop my mini Kobo)
Wake up, turn off light, pull covers up, go back to sleep, shutting down the noise that is my brain.

How do you end your day?

Published in: on April 11, 2014 at 1:13 pm  Comments (25)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/04/11/days-ending/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I too fall asleep when my e-reader hits my face..

    • we could be twins (except you are a year younger)

      • It was a long gestation for me – that’s all.. πŸ™‚

      • laughing–you were smart not to come into the world too soon

      • Sometimes I think I should have waited even longer!! πŸ˜‰

  2. Each night it’s the same thing. Everyone else has gone to bed and it is the perfect quiet time for reading. I settle on the couch under a fuzzy blanket, determined to read for a few hours. Five minutes later I am sound asleep :(.

    • I feel your pain–I always want to read for hours and it turns into minutes……….

  3. I end the day much the same way except instead of a kobo, my iPad hits my face.

  4. Well for now… laying in my recliner for awhile watching tv, till I think I can get to sleep… , trying to see how long I can maybe sleep before waking… two….three….four times a night and then to decide probaby around 6 am… I won’t try anymore… sad but true ‘just for now’… Diane

    • I am sure you have heard of this because you are quite savvy in these matterss–but for the last few nights I have been taking magnesium citrate (in powder form in hot water) and it has really been helping me sleep–and I wake up rested and my legs do not hurt–have you tried it? A friend of mine suggested it and said her husband who has never slept through the night since she has know him is now sleeping like a baby

      • It’s not something I’ve heard but it would likely not help me in my particular issue… I have an issue right now with excessive saliva and mucous and it sometimes is so prevalent that It keeps me awake and then when I do fall asleep it collects and wakes me up… (can’t sleep in bed at all).. I’m having some tests to see if they can determine what may be the issue and hopefully do something about it… but in the meantime… it is what it is I guess. But I’m going to make a note of what you suggested because I’m sure when I do get to sleeping again I’ll need something to get back into a pattern… Thanks Diane

      • how miserable–so sorry you are going through this! (hugs)

      • Thanks Lou Ann… ❀ Diane

  5. Lately, it’s me in the living room alone catching up on all the DVR’d shows I’ve been meaning to watch. I usually fall asleep on the couch by 9 pm.

    • I know–I used to stay up until all hours–now if I make it to past 8 o’clock I think I have won the Olympics!

  6. I need to get back into reading at night again. I just loaded a couple more books onto the kobo this week, so maybe tonight the night..

    The last thing I do before sleep is put in earplugs to protect my poor ears from the din of the snoring beside me.

    • my husband used to use the bed as a trampoline–when he turned over I swear he jumped up in the air and then came down again
      now he sleeps on the couch downstairs as the back cushions cradle his back–I think he just wants to be where the TV is and be closer to the kitchen

  7. I curl up in bed with a book or a bit of stitchery and keep at it until I can’t hold my eyes open any longer, with just a small lamp lit and the rest of the apartment dark, just the way I like it.

  8. I have my book and my wonderful big pillows, and then I drift off πŸ˜€

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. We watch some television and often it’s something we’ve recorded. The dogs are always on or near us and then we go to bed and read before sleeping. Sometimes it’s restful, sometimes not.

    Is that hormones or age or both? (the not-sleeping-well-sometimes-thing).

    Hope things are good with you, my friend.

  10. The end of my days vary. I like to end them falling asleep to music. Falling asleep to a nice massage is great too.

  11. I always end my day with a book once ablutions are done/ πŸ™‚
    I wrote a poem about endings in my last post, also, but a different kind…
    I enjoyed yours here – felt like I was in that chair with the blanket curled around my legs. Yawwwwnnnnn.

  12. Thanks for sharing your evening. It sounds very much like mine – especially the part about “the book hits me in the face…” πŸ™‚ I especially love drifting off to sleep to the sound of rain though. That is the ultimate serenity. I very much enjoyed your poem! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

