Sometimes…

In trying to put together the puzzle that is my life
Sometimes I attack the borders first
Giving myself a frame to look out of ~
Sometimes I start in the corner
And try to work my way to the other side ~
Sometimes I go by colour
Painting my world a rosy shade ~
Sometimes I start in the middle of things
Circling, meandering, trying to find my way.
Sometimes — I look out of my frame to beauty;
Sometimes — I find the other side and find it wanting;
Sometimes — life is rosy, and this is where I want to stay
But most of the time, I circle, I meander, I keep trying
To make sense of the puzzle that is my life.

Two poems down, 28 to go.

Published in: on April 2, 2014 at 1:01 pm  Comments (32)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/sometimes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

32 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. good luck with your challenge.. 😉

  2. I love this, LouAnn. The puzzle is a wonderful metaphor for life and you did a fabulous job in putting it together!

    • thanks Cathy–I wrote it quickly and it could use a bit of editing–but it is my offering of the day–thanks for your compliment

  3. What a lovely poem. I guess I would start with the colours. 🙂
    Diana xo

  4. LouAnn this is terrific!! I read it over and over, nodding all the way..’yes…yes’…a puzzle for sure.

  5. Not all who wander are lost. Lovely poem, Lou.

    • so true–I would not mind wandering Belize with you

      • I’m packing my bags!

      • sounds good to me–no climbing this time though unless it is onto a table to dance!

      • Deal!

  6. I love this!

  7. I watch children put puzzles together and they look for the familiar piece to start ….begin from a place of comfort. Your poem is wonderful and I can’t believe you wrote it quickly, well done!

    • wrote it in ten minutes–a little rough around the edges–but I did think of it while I was still in bed–so am not counting those “hours”
      -starting from a place of comfort is a wonderful way to start–guarantees that one finishes

  8. Original and engaging and puzzling!

  9. You’re so right about life being a puzzle, Lou. If you ever work it out, please let me know. 🙂

  10. A little confusing, but puzzles make life interesting 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  11. I love this metaphor. Fits the different situations we find ourselves in from time to time, doesn’t it? Best of luck on the poetry writing! But knowing you, I’m sure this doesn’t even feel challenging. 😉

  12. Lou, if you can ever figure out the puzzle, please pass that wisdom on. This had a lovely cadence to it, much like your voice I imagine. Even if we can’t ever solve the puzzle, we can enjoy the ride on some days, huh? Loved your poem!

  13. You and me both… Diane

  14. I once got a job because I liked putting jigsaw puzzles together. Not good at constructing my life, though

    • from what I can see–you have a wonderful life, a great sense of humour, and sparkling smile

  15. I love the idea of approaching life like assembling a puzzle. I’ve always started with corner pieces. I wonder what that says about me.

    This doesn’t read like a poem written quickly. Well done.

  16. When I read your poems or stories I almost always think…. “Wow why didn’t I write that?”
    I really enjoyed the comparison. I think this is my favorite so far.


Leave a Reply

