If something is worth doing…………

WordPress prompt: We all know how to do something well — write a post that teaches readers how to do something you know and/or love to do.

There is nothing I do better than procrastinate. I am the President of the Procrastinator’s Club. There are no other members as anyone who wants to join has put it off to another day.

Henry Ford is purported to have said that anything you put off for six months and is then forgotten was probably not worthy of doing in the first place. Or something like that. I would like to adhere to his philosophy which seems to be: If something is worth doing, it is worth procrastinating to see if it is really worth doing. If it is still around in six months then do it. This does not work with filing your income tax though—the government has a long memory.

A good procrastinator plays the system; a great procrastinator knows when their number is up and when not to procrastinate. I am a great procrastinator, and what keeps me in line is work deadlines—I generally do not fool with them as the powers that be are not usually forgiving.

So to be a great procrastinator, here is my advice: “Don’t procrastinate.” I have learned the hard way, despite Ford’s advice that there is very little joy in procrastinating—it causes anxiety, stress, and the reward is fleeting.

Published in: on January 25, 2014 at 7:32 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/if-something-is-worth-doing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love it… and is so true.. I do it for sure when I know it’s not urgent and I say ”’I’ll do it one day when I have nothing else to do”’ and that seldom happens until you realize you need more space where all those old papers etc are… that you were going to go through ‘one day’….. Diane

  2. I know you are right, and there are many things I should be doing today while we are snowed in once again (arghhhhh) that I will regret not doing later, but I just can’t seem to get motivated today. Mother Nature has given me a wicked headache, and the couch just seems like the place to be :). I’ll try not to procrastinate tomorrow.

  3. One thing I always procrastinate about is packing for a trip. It’s something I don’t like doing so I’ll leave it to the last possible minute. Then I panic and start tossing everything but the kitchen sink into my suitcase. Next time I go on a trip, I’ve promised myself to start packing a few days in advance. 🙂

  4. I am very good at this too!

  5. Haha I would consider myself a great procrastinator as well, with all the practice I have had balancing schoolwork with the rest of my life last year 😛
    Great article!

    Cheers
    CCU

  6. Thank you for this lesson! 🙂

  7. I guess I fall under the category of great procrastinator as well. In fact, I’ve gotten so good at procrastinating that I’ve managed to trick my mind into thinking that I’ll only be at my best productivity if I procrastinate. Not too much, but just enough so I feel the pressure. I’m sure you can relate. 😉

  8. I love this post! Clever girl.

  9. I do try my best to avoid procrastination, but sometimes it just creeps up on me, very fast. 🙂

  10. Hmmm…I fall into this trap sometimes. I’ve notice I am much more productive on days that are crammed full…days I have more leisure to fritter away…well, that’s likely what I’ll do. Having a lot on my plate seems to foster efficiency. But I can’t deny…I love the days when I can do just what I want to do, and yes, procrastination is part of that pattern! ~ Sheila

  11. I’m a big procrastinator too – I heartily agree with whoever it was that said Never do today what you can put off until tomorrow..


Leave a Reply

