The Party of the Year Is Here…………….Happy 2014

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year! (Photo credit: Lucy Liu.)

Happy New Year’s Eve! This is the place to be for New Year’s Eve and Day for fun and frivolity. Let the 2nd Annual Blog New Year’s Party begin!

Date: Today and Tomorrow

Requirements: Drop by with a music pic, video, comment, and/or a resolution you plan on not keeping—and just for fun, put it in Haiku form (this is not a requirement, just a suggestion)

Be prepared to raise a glass of cheer and enjoy appetizers brought by Bloggers around the world.

Enjoy the music of Vanessa, and a promised appearance by Le Clown—a fellow Canadian extraordinaire and rabble rouser.  Mimi, Brigitte, Cindy, Audra, Darla, Peggy, Madame Weebles, Lois, Frank, Austin, David, Rosy, Julie, Sheila, Heidi, LuAnn, Diane and Diana, and hopefully Lisa and Robin, S.L., Misifusa, and a whole host of my other favourite bloggers (whose names my fuzzy brain will not produce) will be showing up—so let’s get this party started.

To get the ball rolling, the resolution that I will not be keeping is:

A LIE

I resolve and vow

To embrace tart brussel sprouts

And quit chocolate.

Here is my contribution to your New Year’s entertainment—quotes that fit almost every personality:

For the pragmatist or pessimistic optimist:

“May the New Year bring you courage to break your resolutions early! My own plan is to swear off every kind of virtue, so that I triumph even when I fall!”~  Aleister Crowley, Moonchild

For the writer:
The new year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written. We can help write that story by setting goals.” ~Melody Beattie

For Curmugeons:

“I would say happy new year but it’s not happy; it’s exactly the same as last year except colder. ~ Robert Clark

For novelists:

“We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day. ~ Edith Lovejoy Pierce

For those who like to parse sentences for their deeper meaning:

“A bridge of silver wings stretches from the dead ashes of an unforgiving nightmare to the jeweled vision of a life started anew.” ~  Aberjhani, The River of Winged Dreams

For the Optimist who likes Poetry:

“May Light always surround you;
Hope kindle and rebound you.
May your Hurts turn to Healing;
Your Heart embrace Feeling.
May Wounds become Wisdom;
Every Kindness a Prism.
May Laughter infect you;
Your Passion resurrect you.
May Goodness inspire
your Deepest Desires.
Through all that you Reach For,
May your arms Never Tire.”  ~ D. Simone

For those who believe that success is just a Self-Help book away:

“This is the new year the new you. You can pass through another year, coasting on cruise control. Or you can step out of your comfort zone, trying things you have never done before, & make… the (new) year that you elevate from where you are & soar high. Make it happen!”~  Pablo

For those who can understand whatever language this is:

“Quella vita ch’è una cosa bella, non è la vita che si conosce, ma quella che non si conosce; non la vita passata, ma la futura. Coll’anno nuovo, il caso incomincerà a trattar bene voi e me e tutti gli altri, e si principierà la vita felice. Non è vero?” ~ Giacomo Leopardi, Operette Morali

For those who have enough patience to read a lengthy paragraph:

“In this new year, may you have a deep understanding of your true value and worth, an absolute faith in your unlimited potential, peace of mind in the midst of uncertainty, the confidence to let go when you need to, acceptance to replace your resistance, gratitude to open your heart, the strength to meet your challenges, great love to replace your fear, forgiveness and compassion for those who offend you, clear sight to see your best and true path, hope to dispel obscurity, the conviction to make your dreams come true, meaningful and rewarding synchronicities, dear friends who truly know and love you, a childlike trust in the benevolence of the universe, the humility to remain teachable, the wisdom to fully embrace your life exactly as it is, the understanding that every soul has its own course to follow, the discernment to recognize your own unique inner voice of truth, and the courage to learn to be still.” ~ Janet Rebhan

For the touchy feely:

“Many things are thrown our way in this game of life. It’s how you deal with them that shows your true character. I want all of you to feel the hope, love & passion I feel for the upcoming year & the rest of my life. I want ALL of you to not only go for your dreams, but have a damn ass good time doing it! Love & Warmth, May ~ May Water

 For the Non-animal lover

“A cat’s New Year dream is mostly a bird! Don’t be like a cat; in New Year, dream something that you have never dreamed! Target for new things!”  ~Mehmet Muratildan

For peaceniks and dreamers:

“As we did every New Year’s Eve we made ridiculous resolutions that no one would keep, and quietly we all wondered what the coming year would hold, each of us praying for our own private miracles…This hopefulness was something hardwired into our psyches, that a new year might mean some monumental something wonderful could happen to bring us happiness at a level we had never known. A new year was a chance to start over. Maybe even, just maybe, there would be peace on earth for one entire day.” ~ Dorothea Benton Frank, The Last Original Wife

 

Another one for those who understand this—I found the way the letters and words were put together fascinating—hope Enock was not predicting the end of the world:

“Mwaka mpya ukifika watu husherehekea kwa vifijo na nderemo! Pumzi ikifika hawasherehekei. Kwa nini?”  ~  Enock Maregesi

Wishing you a Happy New Year and prosperous 2014!
http://www.jacquielawson.com/viewcard.asp?code=4612184373868&source=jl999

Published in: on December 31, 2013 at 2:46 pm  Comments (205)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/the-party-of-the-year-is-here-happy-2014/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

205 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Woohooo!!! Happy New Year everyone. As promised, here is our song for the party…

    • Excellent way to start off the day–thanks so much Vanessa and Neil! Happy Happy New Year! We are starting off on a high note here!

      • You two are adorable! Nice that you didn’t suffer an injury this year! Happy New Year to all!

    • Vanessa,
      LOVE!! Happy New Year to you, friend.
      Le Clown

    • Great song and sassy moves, Vanessa! 🙂

      • Thank you, the party’s done now, but I’ve saved you some nibbles! 🙂

  2. What an amazing post and such fun to read. Thank you for your friendship and happy new year to you!

    • check back in as the day goes on Julie (I added your name in the blog post as we have been friends for a long blog time)–and Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. […] at On The Homefront, LouAnn is hosting her second New Year’s Eve blog party, yay! As we did last year, Neil and I […]

  4. Happy New Year Lou, and to all your fellow bloggers. Cheers!

    • hey–what is your resolution you are not going to keep and the appetizer you are going to bring?

      • Oh yeah…hmmmm, resolution….get fit, not gonna happen, and I’ll bring Brie with a cranberry,sherry chutney

      • love your appetizer choice–and I too am not going to work too hard at getting fit aside from my walk

  5. Wahoooooo!!!!! Time to party :). I very rarely drink, but you never know tonight. You might find me up on top of the table dancing with a drink in my hand. Here’s my first saying for the day:

    I’m going to save my resolution for 2015. I think I want to be an asshole for another year.

    LOL!! By the way, the resolution I will definitely break is to cut down on chocolate :).

    • Here’s another saying about New Year’s resolutions I like:

      My New Year’s resolution is to stop kidding myself about lifestyle changes. Nobody likes a cheap, skinny, sober bitch anyway…

      Good one eh?

    • that party hat is in risk of falling off my friend–fill up on chocolate and come back later

      • I’m on it – I’ve been eating chocolate all morning 🙂

      • I have a box of chocolates I was saving for tomorrow–but what if I get run over by a bus today–there I just talked myself into it–thanks Cindy!

      • You are so welcome :). Here’s a laugh for you – I’ve been eating my chocolates in secret so I don’t have to share LOL!!!

      • oh you sound so like me!

      • Shhhh, don’t tell my family 🙂

      • I promise-I just opened mine up–now I had better hide it–

      • You have to be careful too when you get it out because sometimes the packaging makes noises, so make sure you cough or something when you open it to cover up :).

      • ha ha ha ha, falling on the floor….

        getting up again, hahaha haha

      • LOL!!! Now my parents are wondering what I’m laughing about, but I can’t tell them because then they will know I’m hiding chocolate from them :). Shhhhhh…

      • what are you giving them–bird seed?

      • Nah, there’s lots of goodies in the kitchen, but they’re not getting my chocolate stash – no way!!!!

      • there is unconditional love and then there is chocolate……….

      • See, you always understand me 🙂

      • we are comrades at arms–don’t know what that means–I am avoiding cleaning up the house though

      • Thata girl. Hey, I just did 2 really awesome mystery photos. Now I have to try and put links to them on here.

      • can’t wait to see them

      • They are awesome ones!!

      • why don’t you do a special New Year’s Day mystery photo–that would be so much fun!

      • And post it on your blog??

      • post it both places–that would be so cool

      • Can I post a picture as a comment? I’ve never tried that. Do you know how?

      • as tech savvy as I am (not!!) –I have no idea

      • I’m Googling it – I’ll get back to you 🙂

      • Google is my best friend

      • For me too

  6. Quit the chocolate? Hardly a resolution worth keeping, that one.
    Happiness to you in whatever form that may come, LouAnn. Here’s to 2014. (raising my coffee cup to you now) Cheers!

    • Cheers to you–I would raise my cup of coffee–but I ran out of milk–will orange juice do (topped up with Friexenet)

  7. New Year, New Promise,
    Will I put down the donut?
    (chewing) Right after this bite.

    Wishing you a happy new year!

    • perfect–you’ve got the spirit–and Happy New Year to you too–must go back and put your name in my post!

  8. Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year to you too–come on, let’s see the resolution you are not going to keep.

  9. Love your parties LouAnn!

    Resolve to be fit
    More reps and squats and lunges
    But I hate the gym

    Happy New Year you party girl!! Here’s to all good things in 2014!!

    • wonderful haiku–I plan on not doing the same
      Happy New Year Mimi- to 2014 and beyond!

      • It’s so good to have a friend to not do these things with!!

      • we will not exercise like mad women together–though I will keep up my daily walk

  10. […] that I do a New Year’s mystery photo and add it to the fun.  So, hop on over to her blog here and join the […]

  11. Ok, LouAnn suggested a fun game for the party. If you have ever visited my blog, you know that I post a mystery photo every Friday, and LouAnn thought it might be fun for me to do a New Years mystery photo today. I have decided to to two because they both turned out really good, and I couldn’t choose just one. Here are the links (hopefully they work):

    Check it out and let’s see if anyone can get them right. Remember, no guess is a stupid guess, and wait and see – some of them are quite hilarious.

  12. Just a brief pop in to say hello and neck a quick glass of bubbly as my signal is about to disappear into the unknown until the new year is upon us. I hope you all have a rocking night and may 2014 bring you sparkles and shiny new experiences or at least more bubbly than 2013.

    • signal is about to disappear?? Huh???

    • Hope you have a wonderful New Year even without the internet or spurts of it–so glad you dropped by!

  13. Lou, I hope you have a blessed, beautiful and wonderful New Year. You deserve it.

    A quote:

    “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” — Mark Twain

    A haiku:

    New Year brings a pause.
    A do-over, a delight.
    A reason for hope.

    And this:

    Resolutions that I really wish I’d just go on and do:

    • Live more by that Mark Twain quote.
    • Learn the freaking Scrivener software I bought and write.
    • Maybe get a real estate license.
    • Get a professional website up (I’ve been saying this for three years now). Finish my book, been saying that for more than three years.
    • Meditate more.
    • Travel to a place I really want to see.
    • Take some kind of creative class.
    • Do something new to my blog.
    • Blog more than I did in 2013.
    (Get some of my mojo back so that I can.)
    • Be okay if I don’t do all or any of these things listed above.

    Ones I won’t keep:

    • Worry less.
    • Give up pasta, bread or cheese forever.
    (Cut myself some slack if I don’t do any or all of the things above.)

    HAPPY NEW YEAR, LOU and here’s to a great 2014!!! Woo-hoo (party horn blowing).

    • I love your addition to the party –and I cannot give up pasta, bread or cheese either–your list is a great motivator–I might just pick a few things from it!

      I love your haiku–it is exactly what we need on the eve of a new year!

    • Alright lady. I saw this list and you must keep most if it.

      Love the twain quote.

      Happy New Years Brigitte!

      • Happy New Year to you Audra. xxoo

      • I’m crawling back into my cave in 2014.

      • Do you serve popcorn and show movies in your cave and if so, can I pop by the cave some time?

      • I hope you do 🙂 I demand it

      • Okay, I can’t resist saying Happy New Year, to these two treasurable (Apparently I made that word up) friends. You will forever be my peeps and one day soon, I hope the four of us will meet and really get to enjoy each other’s company up close. (Yes, Audra, that means you might have to hug us.)

        I hope, LouAnn, that this little group will have an amazing 2014– blessings galore, joy, peace and time to reflect on all the good things that we’ve been provided with. I love you guys. Thanks for pulling me through a very rough year with your love and support and prayers.
        XOXO!!!!
        Lisa

      • speaking for all of us–we are more than glad to have helped–and you have helped us–cause I know you have helped me so I am assuming I am not the only one to enjoy your largess.
        It would be a dream come true for all of us to meet–we must make that a “thing”–xoxoxo

      • You know it Lisa. I’m saving my annual hug just for you. treasurable… Ok so now I know where Lily gets her vocab from ( grin)

      • LOL!! I’m gonna try and make “treasurable” happen this year. haha!

      • Game on sister(s)

      • LOL! 🙂 (I forget how to insert the good emoticons?) I’m so rusty!

      • I’m just happy to see your tiny beautiful self in a comment stream

      • me too

      • I am up for it–now all I have to do is win the lottery!

  14. LouAnn,
    Here is my Happy New Year to you and your readers. I came early as I promised my wife to NOT be on the computer tonight, until at least my NY’s post is published, around 00:01. I am already suffering from withdrawal.

    As a resolution, I plan to conquer the world, which obviously I will not keep as I just want to rule it. Oh Le Clown, you’re so silly.

    Anyway… I will come back later with a video… I promise. But I can’t post it now… OK? Hint… Hint…
    Le Clown

    • I would not mind living in a world you rule–and will look forward to your video later-would not you to be in trouble with your lovely wife–Happy New Year to you and your lovely family

  15. Happy New Year Aunt Lou!

    I have no Haiku
    Because they are very hard
    Perhaps this will do

    🙂 I love reading all the comments. I hope you and everyone else has a most wonderful New Years Eve and the best 2014 they could possibly wish for!!!

    • a perfect haiku–keep visiting Chay–the party is just getting started–love your family pic on Facebook–makes me miss you all the more–Happy New Year

      • I will definitely keep visiting, we are having a quiet family New Years Eve, movies and cookies and chips 🙂

      • that is a perfect night–we are staying at home–the pizza is ordered and the drinks are cooling–both boys are here–Adam’s girlfriend is unfortunately working

  16. Ohmygoodness, there is a LOT of New Year’s Eve fun going on over here! I hardly know how to comment. I am pouring a glass of White Zinfandel right now. I never drink White Zinfandel (well, hardly ever) but have felt a strong desire for it today. I have no resolutions, no wise advice, no foolish advice, no anything. Am just trying to catch up after a week of being gone! I wish you the best for 2014, LouAnn. May haiku express the inexpressible. May you discover your heart’s deepest desire. Now, excuse me, must pour.

    • Okay, I will join you–I got some cheap bubbly in the fridge and with a little ice wine I am ready to continue celebrating.
      Thank you for your good wishes–and my good wishes back to you–

      • Thank YOU! I have poured and shall now toast you. 🙂

      • And here is me toasting you back – Cheers my good friend!

  17. Time Moves on without fail
    2013 year’s end a time to reflect
    And get a fresh start!

  18. My BLT dip in a bread bowl is in the oven. Be over when its ready…

    • yum–I will be waiting–that sounds so good–do you have the recipe?

      • easy peasy….. 8 ounces cream cheese, 1 cup mayo or Miracle Whip, I cup sour cream, green onions to taste, i tomato chopped ( i even used canned diced tomatoes, 1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, bacon crumbled.
        Mix it all together. Put in a scooped out round loaf of bread –your choice. Bake 30-40 minutes @ 350.
        You can bake it in a casserole dish, too if you want to skip the bread. Use the scooped out bread or crackers to accompany the dip.
        Happy New Year!

      • thank you–that sounds right up my alley–every time I say that I think of my grandpa–he was called Allie–and his sister was called Callie

      • haha… your ADD is kicking in… or were you just into the wine earlier?
        Happy 2014!

      • maybe a little of both………….

  19. […] The Party of the Year Is Here…………….Happy 2014 (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]

  20. Happy New Years LouAnn !!

    • O Queen of the Haiku–where is yours!

      • Couch potato me
        bulbous belly hanging free
        Saying happy new year with glee

      • good girl – were you looking at me?

      • Too many syllables yea yea

      • no way, Jose

      • My image is quite a fright

      • so is my face

      • Laughing what a great pair we make.

      • absolutely!

  21. An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in. A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves. ~Bill Vaughan

    Thanks for inviting me, LouAnn. I can’t say i fall into either category in the above quote as I stay up till after midnight every night of the year.

    As for what I won’t be giving up this year:
    1. chocolate, who would even want to try?
    2. Traveling to Ireland, something I have said for years I was going to do.
    3. Clearing out any of my music.

    • Ireland – that is a good resolution–hope it comes true–my dream is Paris.

      • Maybe we can meet somewhere in the middle one day.

      • sounds wonderful–I want to hit Scotland too

      • Me too, we can meet up there. 🙂

      • I am in

  22. […] to celebrate the New Year at LouAnn’s blog, just drop by to read it or leave a comment. The party at her blog will continue up through New Year’s […]

  23. Happy Happy New Year, LouAnn! Yeah, I know we still have a few hours to go but whatever. I’ll just be here by the pastry platter if you need me in the meantime.

    Those are great quotes, did you already have those or did you spend a lot of time scouring a bunch of sources for them? I like them, especially the ones by Janet Rebhan and Robert Clark (you know, for balance). I have no resolutions other than to try to be a better person, and to hopefully have a good year overall. And to eat more chocolate, because that’s a resolution I can keep.

    • I just googled New Year’s quotes and found them–I am getting lazy in my old age.
      Like your chocolate resolution–I can keep that one too.
      Meet you by the pastry platter with some champagne and ice wine–a good mix!

  24. Laughing. Leave it to you to get the party started so all of us middle-aged and later followers can get to back. Scrap the Haiku rule. Here’s my contribution LouAnn:

    “As this year draws to its end,
    We give thanks for the gifts it brought
    And how they became inlaid within
    Where neither time nor tide can touch them.”

    – John O’Donohue, from “At the End of the Year”

    • Glad you dropped by and love your contribution–haiku be darned!
      I so did not want to go out tonight and was ready to fake a bad stomach if anything came up–Happy New Year my friend!

      • Funny. Me too! Happy New Year.

  25. “…can get to bed.”

  26. Dropping in to say hello and Happy New Year!

    My lowly resolution haiku:

    I will not eat less
    Nor will I exercise more
    An expectation free year

    And I brought some cider and my chili dip – the recipe, as requested, is one brick of cream cheese, softened, one can of chili and a cup or two of shredded cheddar cheese. Spread the cream cheese in the bottom of a large pie plate or 9×9 pan, add a layer of chili and top with cheddar, bake at 350F for 15 to 20 minutes and Bob’s your uncle.

    • No Bob’s my cat (Kitty Bob)
      So glad you dropped by–love your haiku–I think I am going to adopt its wisdom
      Thanks so much forthe recipe–anything with chili in it has to be good–besides chocolate, chili is one of my favourite foods in the world
      Happy New Year’s Heidi–to you and your family

      • I forgot about Kitty Bob. Enjoy your evening with your family too – sounds like a good time with everyone home and pizza on the menu. Ours is a little quieter – both kids are off at parties and we are holding down the fort and napping. 🙂

    • just included your name in my post–how in heaven’s name did I leave you out–one of my favourite people in the world?

  27. Let’s try it again. LouAnn, I’m getting you official credit for the inspiration for this post titled: How Much Fun You’ll Have Tonight – at this link:

    http://davidkanigan.com/2013/12/31/how-much-fun-youll-have-tonight/

  28. […] Inspiration: LouAnn @ On the Home Front […]

  29. Hi…. had to read up about Haiku….re syllables and not words…. here it is

    My resolution
    to bake and cook ev’ry day
    splendid gourmet food !

    NOT!…… lol

    whereas Lou Ann

    On the Homefront is where she’ll be
    Cooking and baking you see
    Her most favourite of all
    Is not the meatball
    But without a doubt
    The ‘famed’ brussel sprout! NOT!…… Diane

    • love your haiku but you poem really spoke to me–I tried brussel sprouts again this Christmas and ugh–how can something so cute be so bitter? Happy New Year Diane!

      • The weird thing is ‘you’re right’ and I like them anyway! Diane

      • we must have a difference in taste buds–you enjoy them and I most definitely don’t–weird eh?

      • Yes.. a lot of other things we seem to have in common …. oh well it would be boring if we were totally in sync… Diane

      • exactly–makes life that little bit more interesting

  30. On the Eastern Edge
    Mummers will welcome New Years:
    Drinks Dancing and Song!

    Hearkens back to when
    we relied on our neighbors
    for fun and for help

  31. I’m back from the movies and ready to party!!! What have I missed?

  32. Festive New Year’s Eve
    A double celebration
    It’s my birthday too

    Almost 2014 here – Just under an hour to go.
    Wishes to you, your fam, friends & peeps on the WP for many happy smiles & lots of blessings.

    {Hugs}

  33. It is official– it is now 2014 – the time now is 12:07 a.m.!

  34. from Dr. Bill Wooten’s blog:

    Should old acquaintance be forgot,
    and never brought to mind?
    Should old acquaintance be forgot,
    and old lang syne?

    CHORUS:
    For auld lang syne, my dear,
    for auld lang syne,
    we’ll take a cup of kindness yet,
    for auld lang syne.
    And surely you’ll buy your pint cup!
    and surely I’ll buy mine!
    And we’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
    for auld lang syne.

    CHORUS
    We two have run about the slopes,
    and picked the daisies fine;
    But we’ve wandered many a weary foot,
    since auld lang syne.

    CHORUS
    We two have paddled in the stream,
    from morning sun till dine;
    But seas between us broad have roared
    since auld lang syne.

  35. Happy New Year, LouAnn, and my best wishes to everyone for 2014 🙂 x

  36. LouAnn,
    I am back with my video, as promised. I will link, if you don’t mind, to the post, as it will explain it further. Happy New Year, friend!

    http://clownonfire.com/2014/01/01/easter-egg-hunt/
    Le Clown

  37. I think people are running out of chocolate. I’m bringing some more over right now!

    I love the music for Le Clown’s video. I may have to speak French for the rest of today. But it would help if I actually knew French. LOL. I’ll have to fake it.

  38. Good morning!! And Happy New Year!!! While I always find New Year’s eve kind of depressing (reminds me that Time passes SOOO fast!) New Year’s DAY dawns with new promise!! I made the resolution this year to make no resolutions because I never ever keep them. But I do feel energized to tackle a house project or two, so when 2015 starts this house should have a new sunroom to celebrate in!!! 2014 is the year to build it.

    Be back later! Cheers!

    • I know what you mean by being a little depressed on New Year’s Eve (and Auld Lang Syne does not help–it is such a mournful song) and energized on the first day of the new year–let us both get this party started in many ways–

  39. Good morning everyone and Happy New Year!!!! I’m bringing some chocolate chip banana bread to the party this morning. It has bananas in it so it’s a good breakfast food right? 🙂

    • excellent breakfast food–bananas and chocolate chips–food of the goddesses!

      • Exactly what I thought! So, did you make it to midnight you party animal?

      • when I went to bed it was midnight somewhere–actually I went to bed and got up again in time for midnight

      • I stayed up only because we have company. Otherwise, I would have been in bed. I’m not a late night person.

      • I used to be–in my other life!

  40. Happy New Year!

    • come on in and have some banana chocolate chip cake for breakfast!

      • I am having espresso, toasted croissants, and left over chili and black peppered encrusted pork loin. Mmmm. A spicy, sweet, buttery and bitter breakfast – hey kinda like me!
        They do say you are what you eat!
        LOL

      • bring it to the party–sounds like a great breakfast–spicy, sweet, buttery and bitter sounds like just the ticket

      • Oh yes, please do – it’s yummmmmyyyyyyy!!!!

      • I think we need a second one……….I keep inviting people

      • No problem – I think there are still 5 in the freezer :).

      • thaw ’em out

      • Mikey made them – he wants to know what he gets in return :).

      • a hot ch………….
        no not a hot chick–a hot chocolate!

      • I think he would prefer the hot chick!! Ok, I am offering a fun game to the party today. We received the game, Dirty Minds, as a gift this year, and we are sitting reading the cards from it right now. It is hilarious and 100% proof that I have a very, very dirty mind!!!

      • hmmm–why does that not surprise me?

      • LOL 🙂

  41. Every New Year’s Eve I fall asleep at approximately 9:00– just like a child. LOL! This year was no exception. I’m sorry I missed the big party, LouAnn, but I’m here bright and early to help you clean up the virtual mess. I’m imagining empty champagne bottles, dirty dishes and half eaten trays of food, as well as confetti in every nook and cranny – oops, LouAnn, you still have some in your hair. haha! 🙂

    If I had been keeping up with my wordpress blogs I would have known that this party was taking place — LouAnn’s “Homefront,” where the elite meet. 🙂

    It almost goes without saying that I hope 2014 is a beautiful, joy filled, glorious year for the two of us, my friend. We deserve a great year. I know I could use some relief. One of the things I’d really love to do is meet up with you, Audra and Brigitte. Imagine the laughter and the instant bond we would have with each other. Good times ahead! Let’s make it happen, okay?

    My Sucky Haiku

    Good bye crappy year
    Hello sweet twenty fourteen
    New Year with good friends 🙂

    Quotes – (yes, I have more than one)

    “What is done in love is done well.” Vincent Van Gogh

    “We are what we believe we are.” C.S. Lewis

    Be happy — it drives people crazy. Unknown

    Cheers, LouAnn! Thanks for always reaching out to me in love. You are dear to me. (…and, I sort of think you’re great.)

    Cheers to all of my friends on WordPress! I hope you have a great New Year. I hope to be back in the blogging world soon. (But don’t hold your breath. Just in case.)

    A Gripping Life
    Lisa xoxo!

    • Lisa–what a wonderful lease you have given all of us–and I would love for the four of us to meet up–we would have such fun!
      Love your haiku and hope it comes true and 2014 will be sweet to us!
      I appreciate the clean up help–you can always tell a true friend–they are the ones who stay behind to help you out–I am here for you too!

  42. A kiss on the nose wil confuse ones opponent – Snoopy

  43. Oh and a Very Happy New Year to all. 🙂

  44. Happy New Year, LouAnn. Not trying to be fashionably late, but hey … at least I made it. I’m not really the resolution type, but here’s a fun video for the event.

    • That is brillant. Well done for posting it. I’ll pass it on

      • Glad you enjoyed my small contribution to the event.

  45. Very nice party! Got here from Vanessa’s blog and really enjoyed her video!


Leave a Reply

