Could I Be Any Clearer?

Portrait of Gertrude Stein, 1906, Metropolitan...

Portrait of Gertrude Stein, 1906, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City. When someone commented that Stein did not look like her portrait, Picasso replied, “She will”. “Portrait of Gertrude Stein”. Metropolitan Museum . . Retrieved 26 August 2010 . (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“To write is to write is to write is to write is to

write is to write is to write is to write.”  ~ Gertrude Stein

According to “The Writer’s Devotional” by Amy Peters, “For Stein, writing was  a form of being. She felt that to write today meant to write again the next day and to have a purpose to fulfill. To write meant having doors open to the future, to possibility, and to experience,….

Stein’s phrase also speaks to creating a routine and a discipline. She suggests that if you write one day, then you will write the next, and the next, and the next. And then you are a writer.”

Published in: on November 15, 2013 at 5:13 pm  Comments (18)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/11/15/could-i-be-any-clearer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like that!

  2. Funny, I was just telling a fellow blogger that to me writing it like oxygen, I can’t live without it.

  3. That is a brilliant quote 🙂

    Cheers
    CCU

  4. Sometimes I have my doubts, but according to Gertrude Stein, I am a writer!!!!! 🙂

  5. Here here!

  6. Love Picasso’s wry sense of humour. 🙂 Great quote, LouAnn.

  7. Hmmm…well, I’ve defined myself as a writer, but I don’t write every day, not by a long shot! Does it count if I think in blog posts?! I often find myself mentally arranging sentences and paragraphs when I’m not able to get to my keyboard. Bottom line, though, I need to be more disciplined in this area. Thanks for the nudge! ~ Sheila

    • I think in blog posts sometimes too–and even in haiku–counting out the syllables! It is weird. Writing everyday is hard, but it is my job to write for the paper so I have an advantage there in that I have to write

  8. Deep in the cave of my own writing cave myself. Thanks for sharing this. 🙂

  9. I so agree with this. To write, and write, and write. To harvest stories and chew them slowly with a table of readers. Nothing better.


Leave a Reply

