Welcome October

October's Palette

October’s Palette (Photo credit: dibytes)

Veil of enchantment

Reveals dreamlike October

Burnished by the sun

Published in: on October 2, 2013 at 1:24 am  Comments (30)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/10/02/welcome-october/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How lovely. I’m putting this poem on my desk… Thank you.

  2. burnished. is there a better word for fall? well done.

  3. Beautiful
    Fiery Autumn
    Confetti swirl

    Happy October LouAnn.

    • on target as usual — beautifully done!

      • My count is off. I’m rusty.

        Good morning

      • I have many books on haiku and the count does not have to be the one we are most familiar with–your haiku was beautiful

      • Thank you 🙂

  4. I love autumn colours. I think we had some last week. They’re calling for possible snow tomorrow. Diana wants summer back haha!

    • snow, snow–are you in Calgary?

      • yes. I still wonder why I don’t live somewhere tropical!

      • you could come and live in southwestern Ontario–we are as tropical as it gets in Canada–we are known as the Sun Parlour – we get winter but nothing like you do!

      • Thanks for the invite! I’m originally from Montreal and even when it’s warmer there, I feel cold because of the humidity. I feel chilled to the bone. Here, I dress in layers and feel warm. Is it humid where you are?

      • it is crazy humid in the summer here

      • I believe that! In the winter too? In Montreal, my dry hair would turn into icicles!

      • it dries out in the winter here according to my husband

      • Well then, is the guest room ready? haha

      • sure–I just have to put some roses in a vase and chocolates on your pillow

      • 🙂 !

  5. Lovely haiku to kick off the month of October.

  6. Wow!!! These are amazing!

  7. You’re right – burnished is the perfect word for October. The colours are just starting here.

  8. I can’t think of a better way to describe October!

  9. There is nothing better than the colors of autumn. Lovely poem as well.


Leave a Reply

