Sunday Night Thoughts of Blessings

Know your blessings, cherish them and sow more...

Know your blessings, cherish them and sow more blessings. (Photo credit: symphony of love)

Kathy from Lake Superior Spirit has made a vow I wish to emulate. She says in her post today: “Once a week in October, November and December I will share Blessings, both received and given.  To consciously acknowledge some of the ordinary and extra-ordinary gifts of each day.  To focus on the many blessings which arise like the sun over our multi-colored ever-changing earth.”

In her post she says that what we concentrate on tends to come our way and that by concentrating on our blessings we will receive more. Well, Kathy, I am in. I will join you in your vow and dedicate a day a week in the next three months to my blessings too.

I do find recounting my blessing difficult though, because if you think about it, we are the recipients of so many blessings, recognized and unrecognized that it is difficult to know where to start. The bad stuff comes to the surface much too easily, and I think that the cream of the crop—the good stuff should rise to the top.

I shall keep my eye on Kathy’s posts to find out what she considers to be the blessings in her life—and I will try to be thoughtful about my own.

Will you join Kathy and me—if not in a post, at least in your heart?

Published in: on September 30, 2013 at 12:10 am  Comments (34)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/sunday-night-thoughts-of-blessings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

34 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m going to ‘try’ and post once a week on blessings in my life…there are many… The reason I say try is that as you know I’m not in the most alert frame of mind these days and so don’t know realistically if I can… there is even more going on than what I’ve posted… Having finished saying all that I will really attempt even a short post on my blessings… Diane

    • glad you are joining us knowing that you are having a bit of a trying time–that makes it even more admirable–but do not put unneeded pressure on yourself–you can post in your heart

  2. […] Ann at On the Homefront and Kathy from Lake Superior Spirit have committed to doing a post a week during the next three […]

  3. Count me in…I used to keep a gratitude journal and don’t remember why I stopped. I think this would be a good exercise to do – acknowledge our blessings. A day a week for three months – let’s do it.

    • Glad you are joining us but it does not surprise me a bit–this was tailor made for you

  4. In my heart for sure, this is such a wonderful idea 😀

    Cheers
    CCU

  5. Great idea. I’m in. Before sleep, it was part of my bedtime ritual to consciousy think of three things I was grateful for….now, I’m not as disciplined about it. Time to count my blessings.

    • Nicest way to go to sleep, though sleep for you and me is sometimes a nebulous thing

  6. I join you every single day with the three beautiful things that I post, all blessings in one way or another! All the best to you and to Kathy! 🙂

    • you are a true inspiration and have been the backbone of many a post I have written, either consciously or unconsciously

  7. I’m in, all the way. For the most part, I always try to be grateful about everything I’ve been given and not take anything for granted. This is definitely an exercise I can keep track of in my journal!

  8. […] Sunday Night Thoughts of Blessings (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]

  9. Once a week? I count my blessings every day :).

  10. I love this idea. I am the most fortunate person I know and there is so much to be thankful for. I will start with this morning’s early walk at sun rise. I witnessed the sun rise behind the corn field. The air was sweet and warm. The sky was coral and cream. It was fantastic. I am so blessed to have witnessed it.

  11. Count me in! 🙂

  12. I’m in, Lou. Thanks for the reminder!

  13. When I first started my blog, I would post a Weekly Reflection of Gratitude — perhaps it is time to get back to that.

  14. Oh my goodness–look at how this is expanding, just like when you throw a rock in the water and it ripples out and out and out. Love it! Won’t we have fun? So glad you’re in like Flynn. (Have you ever heard that saying? I think my folks used to say it.)

    • we have a lot of people joining us–what a great idea Kathy! And yes I have heard of that saying but do not know who Flynn was.

      • Me either… Hey, we could write a blog about it! LOL…NOT!

      • hmmm–I googled it and we should be careful–refers to Errol(?) Flynn and his conquests with women

      • Ha ha ha! We should be VERY careful!!

      • ha ha

  15. So much to be thankful for every day. It does ones heart good to concentrate on the positive. 🙂

  16. I swear this is true, LouAnn. I just got a special email day for Flinn’s flowers! Love how the Universe jokes around.


Leave a Reply

