A Sunday Thought

Silence is not nothingness but the stillness from which clarity and insight can spring.-

Sounds of Silence (album)

Sounds of Silence (album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Donald Altman, Author of One Minute Mindfulness

Published in: on September 15, 2013 at 4:38 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/09/15/a-sunday-thought/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How rare is the stillness that allows one to truly hear her own thoughts..

  2. I love this quote – but then I have always enjoyed silence and my own company. Fortunately, I have a very loud and busy family to help try to cure me of that.

    And I still love that album – I remember my parents playing it on 8 track all the way to the east coast on a family camping trip. I have it somewhere on CD too – I should convert it to digital to enjoy it again.

    • I enjoy silence too–you and I seem to be brought kicking and screaming into social events–but enjoy them when we participate.
      I love Simon and Garfunkle

      • Yes – I am a reluctant entertainer/guest, but always enjoy the party or event in the end. Funny how that works. I should have learned to enjoy with anticipation by now.

      • don’t anticipate having fun–then you will be disappointed–think the worst and be pleasantly surprised

      • 🙂 That’s how I roll. I knew there was a reason for it.

  3. But my words like silent raindrops fell
    And echoed in the wells of silence

    One of my favorite songs! I have my tv muted and am listening to the rain as I type this. 🙂

  4. Silence is golden. Isn’t that a song too?

  5. A nice quote. I think of silence a lot lately. Last summer when I went to South Dakota to visit my relatives and stop by my dad’s side of the family’s cemetery, I was completely overwhelmed with the roar of silence as I stood at the place where some of my dad’s ashes had been scattered. From that moment on, I have a new baseline, a new feeling when I think of silence. I have tried for over a year to capture the silence of that moment in words but, no, it so far can not be tied down with such simple things as letters into words.


Leave a Reply

