Oddly Comforting

Opera Singers

Opera Singers (Photo credit: rh_photo)

It’s all kind of comical, aggravating and oddly comforting. Life.

~ unfetteredbs

 

This is a comment from one of my favourite bloggers in response to a reply I made to her concerning the opposing topics of opera and lawn mowing. Seems she has some wacky neighbours–one who likes to belt out opera in the mid-afternoon, and another who cuts his lawn at night. Her reply sums up life perfectly: comical, aggravating, and the vagaries “oddly comforting.”

 

Another definition of life I like is this: “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”  Albert Einstein is attributed with these words of wisdom. If I had to choose, I would like to live my life as though everything is a miracle—even if it includes off kilter opera singers, and people who mow their lawns when the sun don’t shine. With all our quirks, we are the people who make up this life—and I agree with unfetteredbs, it is oddly comforting that we are a little bit weird and strange.

Published in: on September 8, 2013 at 12:29 pm  Comments (24)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/09/08/15113/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think that’s one of the greater truths that I couldn’t seem to embrace when I was struggling as a kid – that we’re all a bit weird, quirky and odd…perfectly imperfect.

  2. I love the idea of being a bit strange and a bit weird. I like it when we are true to ourselves. I think, in our society now, nonconformity is a bit weird and strange. Some of the most beautiful people are those that understand that being outside of the box is opening yourself up to a place where you are you. Others think it is strange but, to you, it is just life outside of the box.

  3. Life is more interesting with all the oddities thrown in.

  4. Yes, yes, yes! the oddest craziest things are miraculous joys! I love them (except when they’re annoying, and even then sometimes you can see the miraculous shining through in between the annoying…)

    • sometimes when we look back, the annoying things make the best stories!

      • You’re right about that!

  5. Ahhh. LouAnn how I love our early morning coffee together 🙂 you always get me thinking and smiling.
    And I am a little bit weird and odd. That’s why I fit quite well into my neighborhood sandwich

    • Brigitte said it best when she said you were good people–and good people are a little wild and crazy when they are not being weird and strange (I speak from experience here).

  6. I used to have a Scottish neighbour who would come home from a bender and start playing the bagpipes at 5am (fully kilted). I find comfort in the odd more often than not..

    • I love the odd but maybe not at 5:00 a.m. though the way things have been going lately, I am up anyway
      I went out with a bagpiper when I was in university and he used to fully kilt and walk the halls of our residence playing his bagpipes–many times in the midst of a bender

  7. I love the idea of living as though everything in life is a miracle. Much better than the other way around. Have a lovely weekend!

  8. Lou, I love weird and strange. Some of the best people I’ve ever known are weird and strange. I love that Einstein quote — have kept that one with me for years and it’s on my feel good page on my blog. Great minds, my friend. And Audra is wise beyond her years and good people. Like you. Happy Sunday. xo

    • Good to hear from you–I love the weird and strange too–and I love miracles and the fact that they exist –Happy Sunday to you!

  9. Okay, I made a comment and it disappeared. So here goes again if I can remember what I said. Grrr, WordPress. I love weird and strange. Some of the best people I know are weird and strange. I know I am. And I love that Einstein quote. Have kept that one with me for years now. It’s on my feel good page on my blog. Great minds, eh, Lou? And Audra is wise beyond her years. And good people. Like you. xo

    • you remembered very well–and I must get me a feel good page or two or one hundred and two

  10. “All the world is queer save thee and me, and even thou art a little queer” ~ Robert Owen 🙂

  11. That has Audra written all over it. Oh, there’s a good reason to mow your lawn at night. i’t a really good way of keeping the slug population under control.


Leave a Reply

