I Feel Better Now

A friend sent me this email this morning. It made me feel so much better. I thought I would pass it along to you and hopefully it will make you feel better too!

Ever walk into a room with some purpose in mind, only to completely forget what that purpose was? Turns out, doors themselves are to blame for these strange memory lapses.

University of Notre Dame Campus

University of Notre Dame Campus (Photo credit: adam79)

Psychologists at the University of Notre Dame have discovered that passing through a doorway triggers what’s known as an event boundary in the mind, separating one set of thoughts and memories from the next.

Your brain files away the thoughts you had in the previous room and prepares a blank slate for the new locale.

So it’s not aging, it’s the damn door!

Thank goodness for scientific studies like this!

Are you like me and go back to the previous room where the thought originated to recover it?

Published in: on July 14, 2013 at 1:39 pm  Comments (65)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/14/i-feel-better-now/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

65 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So do I lose brain cells when the toilet flushes ?

  2. This happens to me ALL the time. I’ve tried turning around three times shouting dammit, dammit, dammit. Yeah, hasn’t helped so far. Going to remove all of the doors, right now! Thanks for the info. 🙂

  3. Oh it’s so good to know that it’s not me… lol it is so infuriating and happens much too often… Now if I can just take those doors out that will solve my problem…. Who needs doors anyway? Diane

    • front door back door and bathroom door–that is all we need–I say take all the other ones out

      • Me too…what happens though if we take them out and we still can’t remember…what or who do we blame??? Oh well…! Diane…

      • we will think of something Diane–because we know it is not us now!

  4. It all makes sense now!! I just need to stay away from the damn doors. What about windows? Should I be crawling in windows instead or do they have the same effect?? 🙂

  5. THE LIBRARIAN

    I place a call upstairs
    To the library and archives
    Where the old retainer’s stationed
    Twenty-four seven (long hours, I admit
    But they’re pretty simple tasks)

    I’d like to access some word
    Some book, some film, some name
    Some person’s face or history
    “Please,” I say, ever so politely
    I always say “Please”

    And “Thank you very much” as well
    Hoping of course (as the brightest
    Among you will have guessed)
    That this carrot approach will
    In time improve his performance

    The stick approach is
    In my humble opinion
    Morally repugnant
    (And in practice
    Counterproductive anyway)

    The doddering voice
    Remains silent
    While in the silence
    In the distance
    I can discern

    Those doddery footsteps
    Receding among the stacks
    Will he return, I wonder
    Sometimes he’s gone for hours
    For days even

    Perhaps its time for superannuation
    But he was always so loyal
    And reliable in a crisis
    Besides if I were to retire him
    I’d get to wondering who’d be next

  6. I think going up and downstairs from one room to another does this too..;-)

    • THE ETERNAL OPTIMIST

      A split-level home
      And a failing memory.
      Lots of exercise!

      • good reply — and in haiku no less!

      • Any why not? 🙂

      • I like the effort!

      • Just recycling an old post that appeared relevant I’m afraid. 🙂

      • it deserved recycling–btw I found two of your comments in my spam and saved them – Liked The Librarian very much

      • Yes, WP has been doing that a bit recently. Glad you didn’t deleted them unread. I’m glad you liked “The Librarion”. In a similar vein, you might also enjoy “When I Am Old”

        http://bennaga.wordpress.com/2012/02/08/when-i-am-old/

      • yes I did

    • me too–ha ha ha – and walking to the car, and brushing my hair, getting a drink of water

      • Yup – I’m right with you!!

      • well of course, you are my twin!

  7. I see we are all in excellent company 🙂

    • we most certainly are!

      • Thank you for making me feel normal. Whatever the heck that is!

      • Sometimes it is good to feel normal–although I really wouldn’t know!

  8. Whew – It’s not me – It’s the damn door!
    Thank you for this most informational tid-bit! 😉

  9. I feel better now too 🙂

    • isn’t it nice to have a little science to back us up–also young moms have way too much on their minds so that would help explain you

  10. That must be why I am losing weight fast,, I keep going to the kitchen only to forget why I was there so I come out again. heehee!

    • hope that starts happening to me–never been overweight but I have a few pounds I would not mind getting rid of

  11. That is why I am losing weight fast,, when I go to the kitchen I forget why I am there and come out again. heehee! 😉

  12. How where did I leave that door?

    • ha ha– I know what you mean! Wish I didn’t

      • Oh my gosh Lou how reassuring this article is. I thought it was something called Fibro-Fog. and now can place the blame where it really belongs,
        Thanks for that! ~

      • such a relief to know there is a reason isn’t it? doors–who woulda thought?

  13. I’m also feeling better. I can be easily distracted–doors, a new email, a noise. . . .

  14. Even if it’s not true, I’ll quote it.

  15. I’ve had it happen to me plenty of times too so it definitely can’t be an age thing. 😉 This definitely puts things into a logical and feel-good perspective!

    • I like having something to blame and if it is not a person–then all the better!

  16. i feel I’ve been walking backwards through my life for years! Glad to find it was normal, logical and not demented !

  17. Haha I KNEW it, doors are magic 😉
    I actually forget all the time, and am so glad it is not only me!

    Cheers
    CCU

  18. What a relief it is to know this. I’ll pass it on to my mom. She’ll be thrilled too. 🙂

  19. Yes, I do go back to the room where the thought originated and I usually remember. Pretty cool. Thanks for sharing.

  20. I still say it’s due to too much chocolate…

  21. And here I thought it was just me. 😉

  22. Good to know! I feel better too! ~ Sheila

  23. Ahem. A door, you say? Well, I always go downstairs, following our circular stairway. There is really no door between the upper and lower level, just this winding stairway. Can’t tell you the number of times I have stood befuddled in the basement completely clueless as to why I descended…

    • so we will add stairs to the things that make us forget–no problem!

      • 🙂

  24. I have a strange fascination with doors. I have taken a lot of pictures of them in my travels and written a few short posts about them. They are so beautiful with their decorations, swirls and curlicues,brightly colored paint, small windows. Sometimes, security bars. Condensing for brevity’s sake, my view of doors are that they are “portals” that take us from one place to another. We use them to move ourselves forward (ready or not) into a different realm. One cannot hang out indefinitely on the threshold of a door and remain in limbo; one must move forward!

    Very interesting study, thanks for posting!

    • I love your take on doors–yes they are portals from one place to another–or as you say realm–and I never thought about the fact that going through a door is moving forward–excellent!


Leave a Reply

