Warning: Navel Gazing Ahead

Borneo Elephant (Elephas maximus borneensis)

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Monday morning. The day, the week, the rest of the month lay ahead. In this day, I have a chance at a fresh perspective. I have the chance to cast aside my troubles and worries and find solutions. Last Monday was filled with despair, with loathing of the responsibilities that needed to be met, with a tightness in my chest that formed a lump in my throat that I could not swallow.

What a difference a week makes. The essentials have not changed much. The facts are still the facts. The responsibilities have not dissolved. Yet something has changed—there has been a defining, a stillness, a listening, a realization.

How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. I often wonder who would want to eat an elephant, but I guess an elephant is the very definition of a big thing. An overwhelming thing. I no longer want to be engulfed by the vastness of those things I need to overcome. I am going to beat the things that threaten to overthrow my kingdom; vanquish my foes (for we all have them: mine are self-doubt and worry); pick up the gauntlet that has been thrown down.

Brave words. I hope I listen to them.

Published in: on June 24, 2013 at 2:50 pm  Comments (24)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/warning-navel-gazing-ahead/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

24 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great post! I can’t tell you how relieved I was that it was not about bikinis. The world has not seen my navel since 1997.

    • 1998 for me–but it was not in a bikini–remember when it was cool to wear tops that showed a bit of tummy?

  2. Good and inspiring words. Just don’t lose sight of hope. The word- hope is really all we can hold onto and sometimes it is for dear life. I think I understand your pain and I remember what you had wrtten about a few months back. It really is an elephant in the room that threatens to devastate your sense of well being and all that is of value. If this blog serves any purpose at all- it can be an outet for your fears and frustrations. Just remember that even though I don’t know you I understand what you are are having to endure. If this is off the rail please delete any of this or rewrite to be presentable.

    Regards,
    ~yvonne~

    • not off the rail at all — thank you for your support, encouragement and understanding Yvonne–you lead with your heart–I love that about you

  3. Glad to hear that you feel better this Monday 🙂 So true, that it’s all about perspective- life is rarely “trouble-free”. Even when situations are resolved something else usually comes along! So important to be resilient.
    Sending some peaceful thoughts your way…

  4. May the force be with you, Lou Ann!

  5. I was having one of those days myself last week. “One bite at a time” – those are wise words worth minding, Aunt Lou. Thank you.

    • it is hard to do, but it is worth heeding if we can–hope you are finding this week better

  6. I too hope this week my outlook on stressful things in my life…can change and I can be an ‘over-comer’ and not a ‘victim’….Diane

  7. No harm in letting things get you down Lou….some days the worry seems insurmountable…..but you are resilient……you get knocked down but you get up again( think that’s a line from a song.) I think you know that about yourself…you will survive.(seems I keep quoting songs.) 😉

    • you have quite the catchy tunes today — I am trying to think of some clever songs to come back with but I am drawing a blank–how about “Stayin’ alive”?

  8. perfect….ha ha

  9. Listen to your brave words – You know what you’re talkin’ about & you know what you gotta’ do…
    😉

  10. Now that’s what I like to hear – a strong, positive attitude!! Keep it up my friend – you will get through this rough patch, I just know you will :).

  11. Been thinking about you, LouAnn. Glad you’re back on the horse (or the elephant, so to speak).

  12. This is a great post for me, as well. Baby steps or one bite at a time – a good reminder for people like us who seem weighted with worry. I’m glad you had a reprieve. That’s wonderful. 🙂

    • whether I have had a reprieve or not, I have to take one–sanity is oh so delicate sometimes…………


Leave a Reply

