Happy Dad’s Day

White Rose

In memory of my Dad: White Rose (Photo credit: Marketing Specific, Inc)

On the website The Board of Wisdom, this is the number one favourite “father” quote:

What Is A Dad?

A dad is someone who
wants to catch you before you fall
but instead picks you up,
brushes you off,
and lets you try again.

A dad is someone who
wants to keep you from making mistakes
but instead lets you find your own way,
even though his heart breaks in silence
when you get hurt.

A dad is someone who
holds you when you cry,
scolds you when you break the rules,
shines with pride when you succeed,
and has faith in you even when you fail…

– Unknown

 

Unknown was very wise.

Happy Father’s Day to all, and to all a good day.  (I wrote an Ode to my Dad on Friday’s post—a reblog with some new thoughts–I have included a link in Related Articles)

Bliss is having a Dad who picks you up when you fall down—in so many ways.

Published in: on June 16, 2013 at 1:07 pm  Comments (21)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/happy-dads-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My children are so fortunate and blessed to have a father like todays poem states and who did/does so much more and I am blessed to share his life…. Diane

  2. My girls are fortunate to have a dad who was and is always there for them, he is someone they can count on for anything. And I am fortunate to have shared my life with him. There are not many people we can truly count on in this life and he is our rock.

    • you and the girls are truly lucky and I am lucky to have such a wonderful brother-in-law too–don’t think I don’t know it

  3. Lovely poem, I’m going to share this with my sons who are great fathers.

    • glad it is something you can share–and I would guess that you had a lot to do with them being great dads

      • I can only hope so. Thanks

  4. Bliss is me being blessed with the dad that I have.
    Hope the same for you! Happy Father’s Day to the wonderful dads in your life!

  5. Lovely poem/quote from an unknown author. very nice post, Lou Ann.

  6. It is very fortunate, indeed, when we have a dad who picks us up when we fall. I have always felt my dad’s big wide arms supporting me even across the miles.

  7. Unknown is wise indeed. Happy Father’s Day to your dad in spirit, LouAnn!

  8. Our Father’s Day is in September but I don’t mind making my dad feel special everyday 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  9. I could have done with a father like that…

    • it is a wonderful description of a dad — everyone unfortunately was not so lucky

      • Hey, at least he never beat me, and I was never hungry or cold or unfed.

      • good that you can realize the sort of good things


Leave a Reply

