Tuesday Wisdom

Classic Gold (album)

Classic Gold (album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Some people see things that are and ask, Why? Some people dream of things that never were and ask, Why not? Some people have to go to work and don’t have time for all that.”   ~  George Carlin

This is one for those of us who are tired of navel gazing. Especially if we do too much of it ourselves. Carlin puts it in such a way that hilariously rings true.

Bliss sometimes includes the practical. What do you think?

Published in: on June 4, 2013 at 4:29 pm  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/tuesday-wisdom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Carlin was brilliant. So funny and quite insightful. Nice post. What are you meaning by navel viewing. 🙂

  2. That was so insightful but funny 🙂
    Lovely quote!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. The late, great George Carlin always made me laugh, this quote is no exception.

  4. Carlin had the talent of taking something we do without ever questioning and turn it inside out until I had no choice but to question it till I had an answer I understood, all while making me laugh. Genius.

  5. I’ve always loved George Carlin. His insights into life were always spot on while being hilarious. He must have done a little navel gazing to come up with some of his ideas.

  6. I definitely agree, to a certain extent. Dreaming is good but if you get too caught up in it, you’ll definitely lose your touch on reality so it’s good to also keep a hand on practicality. (I seem to have a lot of these ambiguous this-or-that kind of answers….:) )

  7. I don’t know George Carlin but I love his thoughts here! Thank you 🙂

    • He is an American comedian who was the voice of my generation – though he was a bit older–he is gone now–but he was an intelligent comedian

  8. If I read the Tuesday wisdom on Wednesday does it negate the wisdom?

  9. I’m not cynical enough to be able to agree. Perish the very thought Hahahahahahaha

  10. Yep, time to go to work!

  11. Sometimes I think we think too much! 🙂


Leave a Reply

