Letting the Beatles Serenade Me

Candles spell out the traditional English birt...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Loved this when I was in university when the dinosaurs still roamed the earth–so I thought I would let the Beatles serenade me gently into another year:

“You say it’s your birthday,
It’s my birthday too, yeah;
They say it’s your birthday,
We’re gonna have a good time;
I’m glad it’s your birthday,
Happy birthday to you.”

And no, I am not letting myself off the hook this 21st day of write a poem a day:

Go Gently Into This Good Year

The years have past

Some gently, some not so gently;

200 px

200 px (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But as Buzz Lightyear said:

Onward and upward.

(I am not sure Buzz really said this, but I imagine he would have).

What blissful thing do you imagine Buzz would say?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/letting-the-beatles-serenade-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

52 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Birthday to YOU! May health, happiness and love shine in your life “To Infinity and Beyond” (which is a quote from Buzz Lightyear!

    • that’s right– that is what he said–I was having a moment this morning when I could not think of the exact quote–you have now put me out of my misery!
      Thanks for the good wishes!

  2. Who cares if Buzz said it. You said it well! Happy birthday! xoxoM

    • I think I may have put words in his mouth — but hey it was my crazy poem–guess I can make him say what I want.
      Thanks for the birthday wishes!

  3. The best is yet to come! Happy happy Lou!

    • Thanks so much — I am off to the races–will let you know what I win for my $20

  4. The Beatles could serenade me with anything. Happy Birthday.

  5. Have a very Happy Birthday. Enjoy your day!

    • thanks so much Bonnie – btw I have tried to join your blog but have not figured out how to yet

  6. He’d say ‘Happy Birthday, LouAnn, to infinity and beyond … and always remember, the answer is 42!’

    heh-heh … hope you’re having a marvellous day.

    • why is the answer 42– is this a “riddle me this”–thanks for the birthday wishes-

      • According to ‘The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy’ the answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe and everything is 42 πŸ™‚

      • must finish that book — but will hold onto 42

  7. Have a wonderful birthday today! I loved this song, my birthday falls shortly after Christmas and it never failed that every year people would call and request the local station to play this song on that day. My boys got to the point that they would turn the radio on, wait for the song to play then sing along to me.

    • What a wonderful memory–and your boys singing along makes it even more special!

  8. Buzz would say, “Lou, you got it going on. Happy Birthday and the years don’t matter, light or not.”

    Happy Birthday, my friend.

  9. A very happy birthday! I got the 411 from Sage…hope you have a wonderful day and year!

  10. Hip hip hooray! It’s your Birthday!
    Happy day to you today & always… πŸ™‚

  11. I imagine Buzz would say, Have the Happiest of Birthdays, LouAnn. Thank you for sharing yourself with all of us. Continue to SHINE!

  12. Buzz would say.. Today is Lou Ann’s birthday,
    A Day to celebrate
    Because she is so special
    Her posts are all first rate
    Her friend are many
    She has no foes
    Because of who she is
    And wherever she goes
    She shows kindness and support
    To those who know her here
    Her words have wisdom also
    To those in ‘blogosphere………Diane xoxo

    • all I can say is WOW — thanks so much Diane (my head is getting big)

      • πŸ˜‰ btw it should have read friends…plural…lol Diane

  13. Have a wonderful day!

  14. Happy Happy Birthday! I hope it’s wonderful!

  15. Happy birthday to infinity and beyond! Hope it’s full of bliss!

  16. “!” πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday LouAnn!

  17. Happy Birthday, LouAnn!! To Infinity and Beyond!!!! He might also say, “these anti-gravity boots are killing me!” haha!
    Count your blessings, lady, you are loved beyond measure!! xoxoxo

  18. Sorry if I’m late, but a very very happy birthday to you nonetheless! Doesn’t matter what the number is, it’s your day and you should celebrate it any way you want. πŸ™‚ If I were Buzz, I’d say: “To infinity and beyond is a little far. How about to a new year and new adventures?” πŸ™‚

    • I like that–a little more specific–easier to see and do–thanks for the birthday wishes!

  19. Sounds like you had a blissful birthday, LouAnn. I love that Beatles song, and most of their other songs too. πŸ™‚

    • me too – I will be writing about my “blissful” birthday soon–which will prove the adage–“the best laid plans…”

  20. See? Told you sixty isn’t that bad.

    • not bad at all — feels like 29

      • I’m impressed with your maturity. My development arrested at about 18.

      • so you are, in essence, younger than me!

      • Or ‘more immature’ is another phrase you might employ.

      • you would have a long way to go!

      • I’m noted for my endurance. Not fast in a straight line, but I’m nothing if not dogged.

      • it is zig zag all the way

  21. LouAnn,
    Well it isn’t a birthday until the clown shows up…. At least that’s what the kids say… like never. Happy birthday, LouAnn. I hope this was one to remember… And I won’t even make a joke about memory and age…
    Le Clown

    • Oh, it was one to remember alright–police stopped my husband and I as we were on our way to the big city to celebrate–we had forgotten my husband’s licence was expired and mine expired that day–so back home to lick my wounds–but the rest of it was good–and the celebrations are delayed not cancelled–the best laid plans of mice and men….getting ready to go down right now and get a new pic and licence
      anyway – I have never had a clown at my birthday–so at 60 (ouch-did I say that out loud) it is about time–thanks for your birthday wishes!

  22. Happy Birthday LouAnn πŸ™‚

    Hope you had a lovely day!

    xx


Leave a Reply

