You too?

An emoticon with a smile. For more emoticons i...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

from Mama’s Midlife Crisis says she is:

“Just trying to make my way through a life that doesn’t seem like the one I originally signed up for.”

This may not sound too blissful, but how many of us are making our way through a life we did not expect? I had many dreams, expectations, and wishes. Some of them came true and some of them did not.

When I was younger I did not see myself married. I have now been married 31 years. Happily for 25 (not in a row–lol). Most important: happily now. (Explanation–seriously does this need an explanation–has anyone ever been happy during their whole marriage? My husband is my best friend, but he has had his moments.)

I thought I was going to have a butler. This has not happened yet. “Yet” is the word to pay attention to here.

I did not think I would have children. I have two boys (men really now). And I am happy beyond belief that I had children.

I thought I would be a writer. I am a writer. (I want to write “sort of”  here–but that would be denigrating my career path and I am not going to do that)

I have achieved some wisdom in that I have come to the conclusion that whoever said that money cannot buy happiness has not been without money.

I have had times that were too good to be believed. I have had times that were bad beyond belief. Who hasn’t? I have decided that I really liked the times that were too good to be believed. I am working on having more of those, and less of the other times.

Bliss is the realization that the life we thought we had signed up for is a myth we can turn into a reality. What do you think?

Published in: on February 10, 2013 at 5:09 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/bliss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

