IF IT IS SATURDAY: It Must Be Recipe Day ~ Two Blissful Recipes

English: Almonds starting to grow, Gran Canaria

English: Almonds starting to grow.(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As you know I am all about finding bliss this year, and not just my own bliss. I would like to share it and provide you with some bliss on those days when it is a little hard to come by.

So far this year, the New Year’s Eve Party that Robin and I threw was the epitome of bliss–the number of you who came, enjoyed, and checked back in again later was overwhelming. When I was in university back in those delightful days of the 1970’s (I know, some of you were not even born yet) I fancied myself a bit of a social butterfly in that I loved to get a bunch of my friends and acquaintances together to just go out and have some fun. I revisited those “glory” days to start out 2013 and it was just stupendous (I needed a reason to use this word).

I will be providing a few synopsi (yes, I made up this word) of that night, but since today is Saturday, I am going to start up my tradition of providing you with recipes because after all “If It Is Saturday It Must Be Recipe Day”! Okay, so how am I going to meld New Year’s Eve with recipe day? Two of the partiers provided recipes of the appetizers they brought and both sound so delicious I thought I would share them in a forum all of their own.

So without further ado, here are two of the appetizers you enjoyed at the party, and I defy you to not find them blissful:

On January 1, 2013 at 12:20 am lucewriter provided this recipe:

English: Bunches of scallions / green onions (...

English: Bunches of scallions (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Creamy Scallion Dip” with Drumstick snacker crackers.
1 c. dairy sour cream
1 c. creamed cottage cheese
4 ounces Swiss cheese, finely grated
1 T. chili sauce
1/2 t. dill weed
1/2 c. slice scallions
Toasted slivered almonds (never optional)
Blend together the first 6 ingredients and pour into a 1 quart casserole. Bake in a preheated oven at 325 degrees 15 minutes or until heated through. Garnish with almonds. Serve warm with crackers. Makes about 2  2/3 c. I always made a double batch.
Happy New Year!

On January 1, 2013 at 2:03 am sharechair shared this Recipe with us:

Feta Cheese

Feta Cheese (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Found this Feta Foldover recipe on All Recipes several years ago and I’ve made them ever since.

Here is the WONDER of the recipe…. Just make them, DON’T COOK THEM, just freeze them on a cookie sheet. Once they are frozen, throw them into a food storage bag and keep them in your freezer. Just pop a few in the toaster oven whenever you need them. Very very handy!

8 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
3 tablespoons finely chopped green onions
1 egg, beaten
1 (17.5 ounce) package frozen puff pastry, thawed
1 egg yolk, beaten with 1 teaspoon water

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
In a small bowl, blend feta cheese, green onions, and egg. Cut pastry into 12 (3 inch) squares. Place a mounded tablespoon of feta mixture in the center of each square. Moisten edges with water, and fold pastry over filling to form a triangle. Press edges together firmly with a fork to seal. Lightly brush pastries with the egg yolk mixture.
Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden brown. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Bliss is not that elusive if you know where to look. I can find it almost anywhere–but it is especially prevalent in good food.

What food do you find blissful?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/if-it-is-saturday-it-must-be-recipe-day-two-blissful-recipes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

52 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. why is everything better with cheese? :0) YUM

  2. Eating in general makes me blissful :), but I need to control that a little bit so that my scales will be blissful too when I stand on them LOL!!!

    • I know- I lost five pounds. Over the holidays I found them.

      • I got a Nutribullet for Christmas, and yesterday I made my first Nutriblast drink with spinach, flaxseed, and lots of frozen fruit. It was delicious, so that’s how I’m going to try and find some body bliss this year :).

      • good for you my looney friend–no more chocolate?

      • Well no, I wouldn’t say that, but I will definitely be eating less than I did over Christmas!! 🙂

      • I know this has nothing to do with this blog post, but my baby just left and I am balling. You are the only one who will understand because I am surrounded by stupid males who just laugh at me as I cry :(. It was so nice having him home for Christmas that it was really hard to let him go again. I know he’s not that far away, but it’s still hard isn’t it? Thanks for listening :).

      • It is so hard–the whole day before Tyler left I was in such a snit and it took me awhile to figure out why–do not be hard on yourself–this is his 3rd year away and I still hate it when he goes back. You and I are the only girls in our families and we have to stick together–here are some big (((hugs)))

      • Thank you so much for the hugs 🙂 – I knew you would understand and show more compassion than the emotionless male creatures LOL! To his credit though, Bryan was very patient putting up with me hugging him every 10 seconds and then crying all over his shirt when he left. He’s such a great kid – that’s why it’s so hard when he leaves. Last night he came to my husband and I out of the blue and asked us intelligent questions about his finances and his classes for this semester, and I was really proud of how mature he is :). Anyway, I kept myself busy this afternoon and did some more cleaning. I’m going to finish the main bathroom now, and then I think the bedrooms can wait until next weekend. The house is looking quite ship shape now compared to the disaster it was last week which will make it easier to go back to work. I would hate to go to work if the house was still a mess. Anyway, I hope you are having a blissful weekend, and thanks again for being such a great friend :).

      • keeping busy helps me too–but you need a little relaxation before you go back to work–sounds like you had a whirlwind of a few week
        It is great when our kids show maturity–then we know they can make it on their own

      • You are very right! Tonight and tomorrow are relax times for sure. I’m thinking a good movie tonight and a good book before bed :). That will be perfect :).

      • sound like complete perfection or, dare I say it–bliss

      • Sitting on the couch with my feet up after a great supper, checking my emails, watching TV with my hubby and smiling as I look around at my clean house = total bliss 🙂

      • I love it–can I quote you on that?

      • You sure can 🙂

      • Come and check it out–you are in my post today–featured quite prominently I must say!

  3. Why do I love potato chips so much? It is my bliss and guilty pleasure. The recipes sound great, I will try them, thanks.

  4. It was a great party! WordPress “time stamp” is weird. I notice your post says I left that recipe after 2 in the morning. Ha! Believe me, I was long asleep. I didn’t even see the ball drop. 🙂 Thanks again for the invite!

    • I notice that they are four or five hours ahead of my real time–thanks so much for the recipe (I did not see the ball drop either–but don’t tell anyone).

  5. I’m a huge dip fan and an even bigger Feta cheese fan so this is right up my alley.. i can see me being very blissful as I sit on my couch eating my chips & dips..

  6. Yummy recipe. 🙂

    • they both look like keepers!

      • Yes they do. I like the sound of the first one the most though. 🙂

  7. “Bliss is not that elusive if you know where to look. I can find it almost anywhere–but it is especially prevalent in good food.” Amen to that, LouAnn! Love the scallion dip recipe. Any good food is bliss to me. Last night I made Trout Amandine – very easy, but delicious!

    • Sounds so good (the trout)–I agree that it is not that elusive if you know where to look and food is one of my favourite places to look

  8. I love feta cheese anything! These recipes sound very blissful!

    • me too – you could put feta cheese on lima beans and I might eat them -lots and lots of feta cheese though

  9. Chocolate = Bliss! lol

  10. Enjoying food with good friends is always blissful! ~ Kat

    • a good bliss choice – just came back from lunch with friends and I agree wholeheartedly

  11. Both of those recipes sound very yummy. Warm dips, feta cheese, what’s not to love?

  12. I am always blissful when I eat a mint Klondike bar.

  13. These recipes are stupendous! Yes – I love that word too 😀

  14. Too many to list – oink, oink 😉

  15. Yes! A good bit of bliss in life revolves around food, of all kinds…savory, sweet, simple, elaborate…as long as the taste is there, bliss is too! Thanks for sharing! Sorry I missed your party, sounds like it was a hoot! ~ Sheila

  16. Best wishes for health, happiness, peace, and prosperity to you and yours for 2013 and beyond.

  17. Bliss does involve food for me too. The cake I have made today fits the category beautifully! 🙂

  18. […] IF IT IS SATURDAY: It Must Be Recipe Day ~ Two Blissful Recipes (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

