~Silence Times Three~

English: Milltown of Kellas in the silence of ...

1.

No silence this night

The eve before Christmas Day

Excitement abounds

2.

Silence reigns before

The bells peal out their refrain

Announcing the news

3.

Snow crunches underfoot

Breaking the night’s silence

Moon shine lights the way

Frosty Footpath - winter snow

Frosty Footpath – winter snow (Photo credit: blmiers2)

Published in: on December 2, 2012 at 12:14 am  Comments (23)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/silence-times-three/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are a poet and I didn’t know it. A very nice poem. A lady of many gifts to give. It is “a good thing” (that’s Martha Stewart and I’m sure you know) that I happened upon your blog.

    • In my “About” I call myself a poet of little merit–I like to write poetry,but feel that I am not “deep” enough to write true poetry — but I am glad you liked the haiku

  2. Lovely poetry!

    I would definitely say you are a poet!, Or certainly poetically inclined!

    I really enjoyed the third haiku! I sounds like something that would be written in a holiday card, or scribbled and framed in a coffee shop. 🙂

    Adieu, scribbler

    • You have given me an idea–I make some of my cards, so now I have an inscription – thanks –LouAnn

      • My pleasure! I would certainly love to buy them.

        Adieu, scribbler

      • what a lovely compliment

  3. There is something so calming and beautiful about a snowfall..yes, the silence is wonderful in and of itself.
    very lovely poem!!

    • thank you so much — I love a snowfall that has not seen traffic or footsteps yet

  4. I love these.. you paint a very peaceful picture with your haiku. Well done

    • thank you – glad to get your educated perspective 🙂

      • um educated? nope just enjoy the reading/writing

  5. Lovely haiku, and snowy pics. 🙂

  6. Lovely haiku from a woman of many talents and a lovely name. 🙂

  7. Lovely poem and pic! Thanks for sharing! xo

  8. Wow – what a beautiful poem! You are very talented indeed! 😀

  9. Peaceful poetry! Fitting photo! Well done!!!

  10. oh to see the moon on the snow and hear the crunch under my feet. one white christmas in 20 years. but if that’s all i miss at christmas i am a very fortunate person.


Leave a Reply

