~ Back by Popular Demand ~ Recipe Saturday ~

Picture of red kidney beans

Picture of red kidney beans (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It is official. Saturday is going to be recipe day on my blog. It is ironic in a way, since I have spent a great deal of my life calling myself the undomestic diva, but I am sure sharing a few recipes will not mean I have gone over to the “other side.”

I am providing two recipes today. One is for those of you who do not eat meat; the other is more for your reading pleasure (you will see what I mean when you read it). Both of these recipes are from my family’s cookbook (one we all contributed to at the initiation of my sister Peggy about 22 or so years ago.)

The first is one of my contributions, and it is really good. And there is no meat in it, so it is good for all those of you who have given it up. It even breaks my personal rule of not more than five ingredients—but you will be happy I did:

Mexican Bean Salad

1 – 19 oz. Can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed

½ cup diced green bell pepper

1 small onion, finely chopped

2 tbsp.  Cider vinegar

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. chopped fresh parsley

1 clove garlic, crushed

½ tsp. chilli powder or to taste

1/8 tsp. ground cumin

3 cups shredded lettuce

2 medium sized tomatoes, coarsely chopped (1 /2 cups)

In large bowl combine ingredients except lettuce and tomatoes; toss well to mix. Refrigerate covered, at least one hour before serving.

To serve: Place ½ cup shredded lettuce on six plates; top with ½ cup of bean mixture; garnish with ¼ cup chopped tomatoes. Makes 6 servings at 120 calories per serving; 3 grams of fat, and 12 mg. sodium.

Sounds pretty precise for me, eh? Of course I have served it without the lettuce, and just heaped in a bowl and not composed onto six plates. And cumin—don’t have it, so did not miss it—but those of you with a more varied spice cupboard probably have it.

This recipe came from my “healthy” cooking days, but it tastes really good despite that (lol).

Here is the second recipe, which is my brother John’s, and is delightfully whimsical (no one has ever called him whimsical before I will bet). This is his recipe, verbatim:

Bologna Sandwich

Imagine it Fried! Bologna Sandwich (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fried Bologna Sandwich

I usually only cook this magnificent creation when Starr’s not at home (Starr is his wife).

Tools: big heavy frying pan

Temp: as hot as the damn thing will go!

Ingredients:  bologna, 5 or 6 thick slices; a dab of butter or margarine

Directions: Heat the stove (high) and the frying pan. As soon as the pan starts to glow add butter. At this point make sure that the exhaust fan is set at high – everything works better on high. When the smoke subsides and the butter is a brownish colour – add a few slices of bologna – cut it like a four leaf clover to keep the little sucker from curling in the pan.

As soon as the bologna turns near black – it is done. Remove from the pan and set on the counter to drain – (you can clean up the mess after). Get 2 slices of bread (your choice), spread liberally with mayonnaise, mustard, slices of tomato, cucumber, radish, lettuce etc.

Turn on the Yankee Workshop and have lunch with Norm.

P.S. Goes well with chips, dill pickles, and beer.

Weird Tree

Our Weird Family Tree (Photo credit: hball)

His daughter Chay wrote me a note when she read on the blog that I was going to share this recipe and wondered if it was just a “Geauvreau” treat, but said she talked to some of her friends and they were familiar with fried bologna sandwiches too. So we are not all that weird. Well, yes we are, but that is another story…..

Do you have any wonderful and weird recipes you think only your family likes?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/11/10/back-by-popular-demand-recipe-saturday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

48 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LouAnn,
    Like the bean salad and LOVED bologna sandwiches as a kid – fried even better. I can’t really think of any weird recipes, but a tradition that got started in my family was to do fried shrimp for Christmas dinner. Something that we continue to this day…
    Cathy

  2. Hahahaha – well I think I will try one of the two recipes you shared with us today. 😉

  3. Saturday receipes are good. Even though I said that I really don’t cook anymore, I like to read receipes. Don’t know why- can’t think if anything more boring but I like to see the ingredients- the more the better. I always have to wonder who in their right mind makes something that contains 15+ ingredients. Anyhoo, I make a kidney bean salad too, but my ingredients are different- other than the (beans, of course). Nice post. I look forward every day -to what you’ve got to say.

    • you will have to share your salad sometime too–kidney beans are good for us- Ha, ha, while bologna, well that is another story

  4. After reading about the fried bologna sandwich I am starving now! I do have an odd little dish my late dad used to make all the time (it was about the only thing he cooked) Macaroni soup. It’s elbow macaroni, melted with butter, then a can of tomato soup with milk. It is my kids absolute favorite. (mine too!) My son just asked me to make it for him yesterday.

    • That is, as we say in Britland, the absolute dogs’ bollocks

    • sometimes the simpler the better, right–and if your kids will eat it–all the better!

  5. Fried Bologna sandwiches (when it looks like a sombrero in the frying pan) used to be my fav as a Kid.. Mmmm, think I’ll make one today!!!

    • it does look like a sombrero when it puffs up–an additional reason why they are so awesome

    • haa I love that Lynne– sombrero in a frying pan. That nailed the image! my mom used to eat fried baloney and so does my huband.. gack

  6. YAY and you start this Saturday off with a favourite of mine 🙂
    YUM!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • always worried to present recipes to you cause you are such a good baker and cook–glad you liked them–which is your favourite?

  7. Having trouble finding the link to Weird and Wonderful recipes only your family like. I’ve got some real stormers
    BTW the fried bologna sandwich? As good as it gets. I wanted one right there, right then.
    I missed a cultural reference to a TV show, but there again I’m a Brit, you’re in the States, we can expect a few thuds as one or other of us falls into a yawning culture gap. No fault apportioned either side.
    There’s an additional problem in that I don’t have a television. Hey ho

    • Norm is a master carpenter–his show is one my brother and my husband both love

  8. Although I do not cotton (my dads word) to these sandwiches he did. This was his big camp out thing too.

    He also would add a friend egg to his. Just saying…

    Love the Saturday Recipe posts idea, Good one Lou I am looking forward to this.

    • hmm- hope my brother reads this — he may just add a fried egg to his recipe!

  9. Fried Bologna Sammiches – YUM!

  10. as a meat free person i’m loving the recipe ~ as a former-bologna eater {many, many sandwiches as a kid} it brings back not so fond memories ~ but i like the beer part of the meal heh heh

  11. I used to LOVE fried bologna sandwiches when I was a kid. LOVED them. I would pour the melted/burned butter from the pan on the Wonder bread, making it extra delicious.

    Weird holiday traditions? Cinnamon rolls with the shrimp cocktail before the turkey or prime rib. I have no idea why.

    • cinnamon rolls and shimp cocktail–unusual but I like both,so I would give it a whirl

  12. Hmm–In the spring we like to forage dandelion. We eat it creamed with a hot bacon dressing. It’s yummy.

  13. I have to introduce fried bologna sandwiches to Sophie, my grand daughter. I think she will love them just like I did with tons of mustard.

    • me too – I never embellish mine with anything more than mustard–you have to pass the tradition along

  14. I’ve never tried a fried bologna sandwich – but I’m going to now! 😀

    • it is so good and ever so slightly bad for you, which makes it even better

  15. I’ve never had fried bologna either, though maybe I should try it! Suddenly, I feel like my childhood was lacking.

    • ha ha–you lived in a haunted house–how could your childhood be lacking?

      • Now I’m intrigued. A haunted house? That’s somewhere between quirky and terrifying

  16. Hi Louann, I believe I would like the Mixican bean salad…but I think I’ll pass on the fried balogna sandwich.
    Be well.

  17. OMG! An official fried bologna recipe! My husband will forever be in your debt!

    • or my brother’s debt, as he is the originator of the recipe–though we learned it from our mom

  18. Thank you so much for the bean salad, the capt loves them and I forget to make it; I will save your recipe!

  19. Good heavens LouAnn I haven’t tasted fried bologna since I was a kid! But the taste is in my mouth now. My grandma used to make if for us as kids and we loved….loved it! She also had an amazingly thinly sliced pumpernickel bread that we ate by the loaves with (a real luxury) whipped butter 🙂

    ok…the other one (we ate a lot of bread and butter) which I now think of as weird, was my mama cooking up a london broil as she would say of any beef….slap it on the a$$ and send it out. Black & blue it was for her and so for us too. She’d carve up a london broil and it would be a bloody mess on the serving tray then she’d thickly butter slices of white bread and lay them on the platter soaking up the (I’ll be gracious here and call it) jus. It sounds revolting now but we gobbled it up like troopers as kids.
    weird.
    *anna

    • actually I can see how it would be good if you do not think about it too much – au jus is very gourmet!

  20. I am so thrilled that you included the meatless recipe, LouAnn. Awesome! Amazing! (Over-used shameful words.) Will have to try this Mexican Bean Salad. Yum.

    • you were one of the people I thought of when I included it!–someone else overuses those two words, and I personally think those are two words that cannot be overused

  21. I may have to try the Mexican Bean Salad. I love beans! We eat a lot of rice and beans here in an effort to save money for travels. This will be a nice twist. Thanks!

  22. Yay! I’m so excited for the recipes! 🙂

    I think the weirdest thing my family likes to eat is cream cheese and black olive sandwiches. Usually on white bread, but wheat works too. If we’re feeling fancy, we add some avocado slices or some turkey lunch meat…or both! 😛 I took some variation of this sandwich to school for lunch nearly every day…still never met anyone outside of my family who’s even willing to try one though!

  23. […] ~ Back by Popular Demand ~ Recipe Saturday ~ (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

