~ e ~ Or Just Another Haikuish

Offering 1:

e. e. cummings wrote

without capitals sometimes but

not all the time

Offering 2:

e. e. cummings wrote

without capitals sometimes

but not all the time

{Okay, you caught me. I just could not come up withΒ  five syllables in the third line of the first offering or seven in the second line of the second offering, but I have a book of haiku that says that you do not have to be rigid about the whole syllable thing. I will dig it out and make it the subject of a post.}

[Can you fix it, or can you live with a fractured haiku?]

New info: a smart reader noticed that the second offering actually did have seven syllables in the second line and I just don’t know how to break down a word. How funny is that? Capitals has three syllables and not just the two I was allowing it. Thanks so much for your input rfljensky.

E. E. Cummings

Published in: on September 5, 2012 at 8:37 am  Comments (32)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/e-or-just-another-haikuish/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

32 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can live with a fractured haiku. Good call on the letter E. I’ve always enjoyed e.e. cummings.

    • I did too – when he was introduced to me in grade 10 it was such a revelation that you could break the rules

  2. i can live with the fractured haiku. πŸ™‚

  3. Yay for the fractured haiku!

  4. You did better than I would have done.. πŸ™‚

  5. Fractured is good…..I remember very clearly you liking cummings, and therefore I liked him too…..see what an influence you were.

  6. Haikuish is fine by me.
    That is your unique way of expression & I like it!

  7. I love fractured, dh lawrence said something about a broken heart being more beautiful for its cracks.. something like that we should look it up! c

    • I remember something like that and love that sentiment — thank you πŸ™‚

  8. Not even going to try, you did better than I would have.

  9. I don’t have to be
    rigid? maybe i’ll try a
    haiku now.

    • there you go – you have my blessing and the blessing of all who are not rigid –so try your hand away πŸ™‚

  10. e.e. cummings had a way of fracturing his poetry also – I think that puts you in great company! πŸ™‚

  11. I am not an expert in that style of poetry apart from specific placement and number of syllables, but I know that we English have done a really good job of changing some of the haiku basics, so like the commenter before I think you are in really good company. And I like it too, Penny πŸ™‚

    • I think I am going to have to stop calling these haiku — glad you liked it

  12. I think the 2nd one is a fit.. If I am correct…5/7/5 Syllables

    e. / e. /cum / mings / wrote (5)
    with / out / cap / i / tals / some / times (7)
    but / not / all / the / time (5)

    Haha.. you are the master without even knowing it.. aside from that my favorite people are rule breakers

    • hey, hey, hey – you are smarter than me – cap i tals –thank you –I feel somewhat vindicated! thank you thank you thank you — you are much more observant than I (lol)

      • Haha.. I was a teacher.. everyone wins all the time…jejejeje

  13. Love that your haiku was, indeed, spot on! I am a fan of e e Cummings too. You are inspiring me to have a go at haiku again! I loo forward to the H post.
    All the best to you. πŸ™‚

    • I bet yours would be so thoughtful — am looking forward to seeing your haiku

      • I’m trying today. Let me know! πŸ™‚

      • you did a beautiful job and the people who keep criticizing my haiku (just one person–and I just delete them) will have trouble finding anything wrong with yours
        I have taken to calling them poems to keep the haiku police off my back (lol)

  14. …..and another Russel Ray camping trip comes to an end………………..Hope all is well.


Leave a Reply

