New Challenge ~ Or Will I Really Be Able to Blog to the Alphabet?

Elmo

Elmo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

~ September 1, 2012 ~

Today I started my new challenge without really knowing I was starting a challenge. When I asked all of you in my post yesterday to suggest a new blog challenge – one of you came up with an idea that must have stuck in my subconscious.

mybeautifulthings.wordpress.com came up with an idea for me.ย  This time she volunteered the idea. Last time, if you remember, I stole her idea of three things to be grateful for each day or what she calls her beautiful things.

She suggested I start doing posts that begin with the letters of the Alphabet, and continue it until I reached the 26th day with the letter Z (pronounced Zed in Canada so does not really rhyme with the Alphabet song the way Zee does–but it is a cross we have to bear.) I thought it was an interesting idea but did not knowingly take her up on it, until I noticed that my Haikuish today began with the letter “A”.

So, I am off and running with another challenge. Tomorrow, the letter “B”. Somehow I feel a bit like Sesame Street–so to go with the flow– read this in Elmo’s voice in your head: Today’s post was brought to you by the letter A and the number 1.

Published in: on September 1, 2012 at 9:06 pm  Comments (38)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2012/09/01/new-challenge-or-will-i-really-be-able-to-blog-to-the-alphabet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

38 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well since you’ve christened your new challenge with an Elmo picture, you can’t go wrong. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • thank you – I thought so too — but I am glad you agreed–he is a charmer

  2. Good luck! It sounds like an interesting and frustrating challenge. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’m delighted that the idea stuck with you and that you are going for it. I’ll be very interested to see how it goes. Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sounds like a fun challenge! And if you still can’t think of anything starting with that letter – you can just write a post about that particular letter! Cee? I cee ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I miss Sesame Street! Would it be weird if I read your posts in the Count’s accent?

    • it would probably be a trip down memory lane – I remember when Maria got married

  6. Who doesn’t like elmo? I watch him almost 59 times a day when I have my 2 year old grandson me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck with the challenge!

  7. This sounds like such a fun challenge. I am not a huge fan of Elmo, my preference running towards big yellow birds (when I was in first grade I would not respond to my given name but only to the name Big Bird) but I suppose he is rather cute. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I love Big Bird and have for over a quarter century–Sesame Street did not come into being until I was about 14 or 15 and I remember watching it with my nephew, but did not become a fan until my kids were little–but Big Bird has a special place in my heart

  8. Great idea!

  9. Elmo reminds me of my granddaughter, Sophie, always referring to themselves in the third person. Love the challenge Lou, looking forward to your ABC’s.

    • aww – LouAnn want to see Sophie- LouAnn try her best with ABCs but LouAnn not sure how this is going to go

      • Lol!

      • Glad Peggy appreciated LouAnn’s lame sense of humour

  10. Cute! I think the alphabet challenge will be great (but also very challenging:) )

    • it will be challenging in making it relevant, but that never bothered me before (lol)

  11. Good luck with the challenge honey ๐Ÿ™‚

    We say Zed here in the UK too!

    Xx

    • That is probably why we do too – we learned it from our mother country and proudly

  12. Clever idea! If my Sesame Street memory serves me . . . “C is for cookie.”

    • Okay that is good for tomorrow, but today is B – any ideas?

      • Well, I just got home from the U.S. Open so I have “Beyond the Baseline” on the “Brain,” but tomorrow I’ll be thinking about “Back to school.”

  13. Thank you, Letter A and Number One! I have no doubt that you will be able to easily fulfill this challenge except maybe with Q, X or Z? Good luck!

  14. That is a cool idea – I can’t wait to read each post to see what you come up with.

    • don’t have too high of expectations – but I will give it the old college try

  15. Sounds like fun. Each letter could mean anything; I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Good luck!

  16. you are amazing….our challenge is just to get one post a week, every week and some weeks, even that seems to much. my hat is off to you and my admiration is large!


Leave a Reply

