Go Out and Play

“Go out and play,”

Was my mother’s favourite refrain in the summer

So dutifully (as if I had a choice)

I would place a book under my shirt and in the waist of my shorts

And skulk out of the house, away from the big brown chair

I had adopted as my own and

climb my favourite tree

Then nestle into the crook of three thick branches

where the bark was smooth and welcoming~

I would while away the summer days

Shaded by the leaves; hidden in my lair

And go on adventures without setting foot on the ground.

Summer memories……………….

 

Published in: on August 7, 2014 at 2:24 pm  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/go-out-and-play/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am so enjoying these summer memories, LouAnn.

  2. Oh it sounds so lovely ~ wonder if I could find a tree today to read in as well! Breezes are so cool today ~ it’s the perfect reading weather outside.

  3. I can’t imagine a more perfect way to spend an afternoon – hidden in the crook of a tree with a book..perfect!

  4. I love your summers, big fan of hiding away with a book! :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. What a delightful memory!

  6. I loved that tree….was a reading nook for you and a climbing apparatus for me! Love these summer memory poems.

    • thanks Peg–I remember going to Sue’s house and checking it out–it is no longer there nor is our house really

      • 😥

  7. This put a smile on my face. :D

  8. Beautiful…you have taken me back again LouAnn

    • thanks David–memories of childhood are precious for some of us–I am so sorry for those who do not have them


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

