The Story of Our Life

Have not been writing for this blog much lately- but here is my weekly column just in case you have missed me…………

I have found the answer. My journey is complete. My soul is restored. No more spiritual cravings. Over the years I have made some of these declarations before, but this time it is “the real thing” and I am not referring to my favourite soft drink. Or soda. Or pop. Or however you may refer to your favourite carbonated beverage.

Do I have your curiosity piqued? Probably not, but I shall endeavour to bring you the answer I have sought for so long and finally found, despite your doubts. I know the meaning of life and it is all thanks to one of my favourite but quirky, or quirky but favourite columnists and CBC radio host, Jonathan Goldstein. In his Saturday column this week in the National Post, called “A few Tips on How to Exist” he asked God why he was bound for a life he did not ask for. He did not want to be born. He said that his argument, which consisted of making the following plea: “Don’t make me be. To the universe I will always be the clumsy boy on his first day of school, never fitting in, smelling so funny. Even to myself…” must not have been compelling enough.

And God’s response? He is purported to have told Jonathan that the smell attached to him is as “old as time” and he needed “a person to go along with it.” God then told Jon “to go out there and start existing.” But that is not the end of the story. God had a plan for him that he seemingly has for everyone. According to Jonathan, in answer to his question, “What is the use….I’ll only end up right back here….why bother?” God said this: “So that you can come back and tell me good stories.” Apparently God loves a good story. He told Jonathan (in Jonathan’s hypothetical conversation) that coming back with a good story “is the best and perhaps only gift you can give me.”

I understand. If we do not go out into the world to gather stories, then what really is the point? Stories chronicle our journey; they make following a path worthwhile because at the end of the path is our story. Just this morning I told my husband that the only reason I let him out into the world without me is to bring back stories. I told him if he did not bring stories from his adventures then he would not be allowed out anymore (you do know this is tongue-in-cheek don’t you?). He likes to dive; I cannot swim. He likes the blues; I don’t particularly care for that type of music. But I still expect him to come back with stories—what did you see; what did you do; who did you talk to; what did you eat—you know the drill.

Stories help us live several lives. First the lives that we lead and the stories we can tell; and then, the lives other live that we can occupy, if only in our imagination. I love to live vicariously. It expands my horizons, if not experientially—at least second-hand. Recycled events open us to things we cannot, or are not willing to experience ourselves, but that we can still benefit from. Jonathan says it somewhat more lyrically in these words: “Stories create memories and maybe the memories we make are the novels God reads.”

Jonathan also finds that many of his stories are “accidents turned into anecdotes”. The key element in his stories is humour and embracing his embarrassments, which include spilling relish on himself on a regular basis. I too suffer from regularly spilling food on myself, and find wearing white pants an adventure. From coffee to mustard, chili to French onion soup, the story of my life can be told by the stains on my clothes. I also suffer from TMJ, which means I cannot open my mouth very wide, making me somewhat of a spectacle on the lunch circuit. I really must remember to take smaller bites—oh, the stories I could tell!

I am being a bit facetious here (if you have to tell people you are being facetious you have failed at some level in your storytelling—something like if you have to ask the price…..) but I think you are getting the gist.

We were not put on this earth to do anything other than to find our story. And our story is derived from all those things that have happened to us—from the day we were slapped on the butt to the day our soul survives us, we are our story.

Note: Jonathan refers to God as he; I do not necessarily think God is a he. Do You?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published in: on July 15, 2014 at 10:19 am  Comments (23)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/the-story-of-our-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love this post ~ oh yes, the stories we tell of our daily adventures! Yes! I just did this today in my blog as well. I am sorry you suffer from TMJ but I am grateful that you share the information in your special anecdotal way in your blog. Big hugs to you LouAnn…and to answer your question, I don’t necessarily believe He is a He either. ♥

  2. No, to me God is It. Thanks for the stories, LouAnn! xoM

  3. Ah, yes! Man has always been a storyteller, from the first cave around a fire until now with all the technical toys at his command. It makes sense that God wants to hear our stories. Oh, and as for God…..if he/she made us in his/her image, then he/she is both.

  4. Love this LouAnn…S/He matter less to me than that It be…and that it has a sense of humor.

    • s/he must have a sense of humour–as must we to get through some of the “stories” of our lives

  5. Your regular writing shows, Lou. You just keep getting better and better. Your posts so resonate with me. No wonder you have a weekly column. Now about the God thing being a him or a her. I grew up referring to God as a him but I’m now leaning more toward God being a she, what with the whole mothering and creating thing, it just make sense. Whatever God is, I know this for sure–its benevolent and is seriously on our side. And God definitely has a sense of humor. If everyone would just get that, maybe this place we all share could be an even better place.

    Everyone’s story is important I believe and I’m pretty sure God feels the same.

    Wonderful post!

    • Thanks Brigitte and I am glad I resonate with you, as you do with me. I tend to refer to God as a she or at least a he/she which may be confusing to some but it is how I look at it–and I do believe God has a sense of humour–hence my ears–I have friends who do not believe in God–it is my choice to have faith–I like to believe–though I am a constant seeker–I do not yet rest in my belief
      I agree that everyone’s story is important and that is why God wants to hear them

  6. My clothes could tell a few stories with what I spill and wearing white is certainly an adventure and challenge… While I believe God is ‘He’ I believe He is whatever gender you need to comfort you when you pray… Diane

    • I like that you have your own specific belief but are open to other’s beliefs if that is what comforts them–but I am not surprised by your attitude–as I have come to know and respect and like you–it is precisely because of your open-mindedness and kindness

      • Thank you Lou Ann… that means a lot coming from you. … It’s mutual, I can assure you.. Diane

  7. So many stories walking the face of the earth. Mine is a RoSy story only because my parent’s named me that way. Well – kind of… ;)

  8. God is “I Am” – God is our Creator – God is our all etc…..like you I do not necessarily see God as an “He” but I prefer that to calling God “It”, don’t you? Now Jesus, yes, since He came as a man, I can definitely see Jesus as an He. Good insight to why we are here – finding our story. Food for thought. Question – is it really just our story or is it the story God has set before us that we need to discover?

    • everyone has a different way of looking at God – “it” is a bit impersonal for me but probably not to those who find it is the way they prefer to see God
      I like your “I am” definition and your question is very astute and thought provoking

      • You are right…”it” maybe a way for some to visual who God is..neither male nor female. Interesting post – you got my brain juices flowing!! ;)

      • and you mine :)

  9. This is a most FABULOUS story! I am going to share a link to it on my Facebook page. Love it! So very cool, LouAnn.

  10. I am sharing your post with my creative writing class this week. YES, This is our reason for being. We must keep writing, and sharing, our stories. Thank you so much for sharing yours.

    • I am so complimented–thanks for liking the article and sharing it–you made my day Pamela!

  11. Why else would we be here but to experience everything we possibly can and create those memories that are our stories. Let’s say God created the earth and us, why else would the earth be so diverse if we weren’t supposed to go out and see it all?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 633 other followers

