Because

The storyteller arched her eyebrow,

Paused, and without losing a beat

Answered the question

I had posed only in my mind ~

“Because” she said.

 

Sometimes, I think, “because” is the only answer to some questions. What do you think?

Published in: on April 5, 2014 at 1:20 pm  Comments (14)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/04/05/because/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think if WE (the storyteller) use ‘because’ in the beginning of a story, our readers will hang on until we finish answering ‘because why?’

  2. I like the “because” answer because I expect reasons to follow it. :) Like “because I said so.”

  3. I think only that to a child questioning the reason for something Mother or Father has said… perhaps ‘because’ is sufficient.. I remember saying ‘because I asked (or told) you to…. to our children. But as for other people or adults… I don’t think so… Diane

  4. Definitely, sometimes because is the only way to go about it :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  5. Love it – because….

  6. Oh, this took be right back to my childhood, when “Because” was a stock answer to so many questions I had. :)

  7. I listened to a segment on one of our local radio shows that was all about complaining about “because” as a response from a parent to a child. I was torn. Frankly, I think if that’s the only argument you have, then maybe you need to rethink your position. On the other hand, I really don’t feel the need to justify my feelings, so “because” works just fine for me. I’m what you might call a hypocrite. Why? Because. That’s why.

  8. Because…a fine answer when you’re on the giving end, less than satisfactory on the receiving end. And I’m sure all people have been on both sides…it’s the default for many questions that don’t really have an answer…or is that a “good” answer? ~ Sheila


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

