A Penny for your thoughts…..

 

Just listened to a Ted Talk and the fellow speaking meandered around his subject for about 17 minutes  before he  finally got down to the essence of his message:  Who we are is ever-changing—we do not stop growing, and we are not static. And we should find this very freeing.

I love this message—we are not who we were ten years ago, ten days ago, or even ten minutes ago. We are ever-evolving and have the ability to change. We are not stagnate pond scum drowning in a puddle created by the ruts of life.

Humans are dynamic beings, and as such we can become today something we were not yesterday. We can leave days of apathy and lethargy in the dust and create from these ashes something that kills soul defying ennui.

I have been guilty of accepting my shortcomings as something I have to live with the rest of my life, but I rail at labels tossed my way that do not fit now, labels I have cast off and are no longer part of me. There are some things true to my essence that are valuable; things I do not want to discard, but there are also aspects of earlier personalities that have grown up, expanded, and hopefully will continue to develop.

Have you ever felt that you are now a square peg but others are still trying to fit you into a round hole?

Published in: on February 12, 2014 at 6:58 pm  Comments (22)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/02/12/a-penny-for-your-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Some people do not want their friends to grow and possibly change. They fear they won’t be liked anymore and feel threatened. Your true friends are those who help you grow into a better person.

  2. Maybe….but it could be because I don’t always share all that I am to everyone.

  3. I’m still hoping to become someone that I’d like to spend a lot of time with. Im at home with my own company a lot these days and am starting to find myself a little boring.

    Yes, I often feel like a square peg in a round peg world. Maybe I am hard for others to get to know. It could also be my own perception of things, but I think that some people don’t know how to take me. Apparently my humour can be a little strange at times.

  4. I think we are ever-changing – tho’ there is no doubt that there are many who only remember parts of me that I left by the wayside a long time ago. That said, there are also still aspects of me that have remained the same, certain idiosyncracies and/or insecurities that I have yet to tackle – and areas of growth that I have yet to experience.

  5. This is so inspirational, LouAnn. Thanks for sharing these truths. :)

  6. I love the idea of always changing, even from 10 minutes ago. It is lovely :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  7. I swear to you, Lou I was just watching a Ted Talks today and was going to post about it! We think a lot alike. I’ll share it in a few days.

    Regarding labels–I’ve always hated them though I guess we all do that at times–label someone this or that way. As far as a square peg trying to fit into a round hole, I have felt that a lot through all the changing, “ruts of life” as you say (how great!) in my life. It’s comforting that other people I admire and respect feel that way too. ;).

    Wonderful, thought-provoking post.

    • thanks Brigitte–let us hope our budgets can take care of the ruts–look forward to your Ted post

  8. I’m more rectangular than square… ;)

  9. oh, yes, I’ve changed over the years. But it’s still hard to let go of those old labels.

  10. This reminds me a lot about one of the theories I read about for my classes (sorry, my mind these days are consumed by academics), which was that our identities are not fixed entities but are always changing. And essentially, identity is more like a process as opposed to a result as we gain new experiences and react to our surroundings.

    I stopped caring about labels long ago and my only concern is when people still associate me with labels of the past that I no longer want to be associated with. Great post and lots of food for thought here!

  11. I have felt this way a lot in my life. Our human minds so often seem to want to label ourselves and others and not realize our ever-changing impermanent nature. Really enjoyed reading this post, LouAnn.

    • thank you Kathy–I hope to keep a few things and improve upon them; and let a few others go by the wayside–never to see the light of day again

  12. Hmmm…somehow missed this the last time I was reading blogs…so, late to comment…thank God we’re able to change and grow! I often say I’m a late bloomer and a slow learner. If I was stuck begin the self I was in my 20s or 30s, I don’t think that would be a good thing. Not that I think I’ve arrived! But I know a little more than I did. And I’m infinitely more attuned to the needs of those around me. I have hopes for what is yet to be! Thanks, thought provoking! ~ Sheila

    • I am much nicer now than I was in my twenties–my compassion is more encompassing


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers

