my momma told me there would be days like this–my momma said…..

 

 

blank page before me

a layer of blank white outside

blank brain sputters and hesitates

to spit out meaningful words,

grasping at clichés

reaching for metaphors ~

white flag flutters

no more reaching and grasping.

Published in: on January 30, 2014 at 2:34 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2014/01/30/my-momma-told-me-there-would-be-days-like-this-my-momma-said/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds a bit like writer’s block! This too shall pass. :)

  2. a beautiful blanket of white is what I am seeing out my window. Sometimes white is a reprieve…

  3. Sometimes you just have to let it go…it will flow back to you I know that to my toes.

  4. Enjoy a day of rest. It will come back at full speed and knock you over. :)

  5. I give up….surrender to it, kinda feels good doesn’t it?

  6. I have been feeling your pain, Lou. It’ll get better. It always does and happens to the best of writers. Like you.

  7. Letting it go lets you have more energy later on :)

    Cheers
    CCU

  8. That zen perfection of being in a clear and empty state is the worst feeling in the world for a writer – blank canvas, blank page, blank mind. A writer who is “one with nothing”, is a writer without words.
    Time to find a distraction!

  9. Your blank page created a very descriptive poem. Looks like it’s not as blank as you think,

  10. Sometimes you just have to make a tribute to writer’s block for it to pass. At least that’s what I’ve found works for me. ;)

    • what a great idea–give it its due then move on–you always have the best advice!

  11. Love this!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

