A Christmas “Like”

Confession (film)

Confession (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I feel a confession coming on, and since it is Christmas I think that all my blog friends will forgive me. Sometimes I hit “like” just to say hi. I read your posts 90% of the time; okay 75% of the time, but sometimes when I am in a rush I just want to acknowledge you and your friendship—so I hit “like”. Sometimes I hit “like” when I have nothing to add; and on occasion I hit “like” to let you know that I was there and support you.

Please forgive me. I find myself wrapped up in a lot of “to-dos” which should be “already-dones” so my free time has been limited of late. I would not come by if I did not care—so for that 25% of the time that I do not give you my full attention—remember I am thinking of you anyway.

And as a side note–I owe a few of you some replies to your comments – I am on it.

Do you ever “like” just to say hi?

Published in: on December 23, 2013 at 5:43 pm  Comments (30)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/12/23/a-christmas-like/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

30 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hit ‘like’ to say hi..I also hit ‘like’ because I genuinely enjoy the writing of the blogger and may not have a substantive comment to add. So Lou, I’m saying that I like you and I want to say hi AND I love the way you write!

    • we have a mutual admiration society going on here Mimi–cause I like you and love what you write (and how you write) Happy New Year

  2. Yep – I am a “like” person when i just want to say “hi” or when I don’t quite know how to respond, or I’m swamped with yukky chores. I always feel a bit guilty though and try to make up for it the next time. :)
    Happy Holidays to you and be assured that I “like” you lots. Dor

  3. My thinking about using the like button is how you described. I was there and I waved at a neighbor. If the bar was any higher, say I was under oath to like the idea, writing style or agree with everything written, well, I don’t know that bloggers could be so conversant. I think it would be nice if there were more choices than like. Why copy Facebook? Why not have a “My sympathies, Friend,” or “Do you really expect me to agree with this one-sided blather? But I’m glad if your head pressure is released,” or “Why hasn’t Random House found you, yet?” From the Christmas Grinch, Rebecca

    • I wish there were more choices too, sometimes like does not seem right–I love your sense of humour–you are no Grinch–happy new year Rebecca!

  4. I follow more than 100 blogs. It’s hard to read all of them, but I try to get to one from each person every week. I hit like when I like a post and comment when I have something to say. Also, I set up my blog that when I’ve liked a post it shows up on my sidebar! Merry Christmas to you and yours!
    Diana xo

    • hope you had a good Christmas and I wish you a very happy new year Diana–always love to hear from you

  5. I like you by liking and commenting – a like doesn’t tell enough of how much I enjoyed reading your post – though I do admittedly use it sometimes as a shortcut :P

    Happy Holidays!
    CCU

    • hope you had a good Christmas adventure–and hoping you have a grand (and sweet) New Year!

  6. Just hit like….to say hi!
    I think we all do this on occasion.
    Happy Christmas x

  7. Yup, I do that as well. Of course when I hit the “like” button I actually did read and really like what was written. I have been busy and not had time to give blogging the attention I would like. So I read, and when I can’t think of anything clever to add, I click that “like” button. :-)

    Hope you have a very Merry Christmas, my bloggy friend!

    • And I hope you made it through Christmas and are looking forward to the New Year–do you get rid of your Christmas tree the same way you do pumpkins?

  8. I ‘like’ your honesty…. Most times if I hit like I have read but feel I have nothing to offer in a a comment… or so many comments have been offered I feel it would only be repetitive to say mostly the same thing…The very odd time I quick read ….’skim’ a post and if I can relate to what I have read I click ‘like’….. so while I haven’t read the whole post I do try and say I’ve been there and ‘liked’ what I did read… I don’t think you’re alone in what you sometimes do …. A lot of us follow a lot of blogs and so it is understandable…. I think most people understand …. Diane

    • thank goodness–I would not want to offend anyone–just want them to know I care even if I do not have a comment–because as you say, sometimes I just have nothing to add

  9. I totally understand!

  10. I think we all do this LouAnn. Don’t sweat it.

  11. Oh yes! Just so busy but, like you, just want you to know I ‘m still your blogging pal. Now I must get up and get the day started! Happy Christmas to you and yours x

    • And you are my blogging pal as well–lovely to have good friends in far flung places–a very Merry Christmas to you-love Lou

  12. Of course. Isn’t there a natural pecking order of engagement? Comment being the highest order. Like, 2nd, even if it is a glance at image or title???

    • absolutely — although your blog is hard to not comment on most of the time as it is fascinating, warm, and smart

  13. I do the same thing. I don’t always have time to comment or even anything important to say but want you to know I was there and read your post. When I say “like” it means that something you wrote resonated with me.

  14. You know, this sounds familiar! I hit like often as you describe, when I enjoyed the post but don’t have a comment…or don’t have time to comment, but want to leave something to say I stopped by. As to the time thing…DON’T GET ME STARTED! I know everyone is busy, so I don’t want to claim that I am more so than the rest of the world…but often my good intentions to sit down and visit with my blogging buddies just evaporates this time of year. But soon…soon…I’ll be back in control of my schedule! ~ Sheila

    • I know it is hard this time of year–I am suffering from the same thing you are–but I wish you the best the rest of the season

  15. I’ve done this too – I’ve read the post, but don’t always have something to contribute and want to let the writer know I was there, reading and saying hi. Lately though I have a lot of reading to catch up on – I’ve been falling behind.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers

