Do You Say Grace?

English: Saying grace before carving the turke...

English: Saying grace before carving the turkey at Thanksgiving dinner (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is my family’s grace

For health and strength

And daily food

We give thee thanks O Lord

Amen

 

This was the grace I said when I was a little girl:

God is great, God is Good

Let us thank him for our food

Amen

Short and sweet and to the point and something even a little kid could remember.

 

Since this is Canadian Thanksgiving and saying grace seems to be the grateful thing to do—do you have a grace you can share?

Published in: on October 13, 2013 at 11:49 am  Comments (27)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/do-you-say-grace/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Mother always said grace but she died last Sept. So past 13 months I kinda just spit it out as I don’t enjoy the task.

    • I hope for you that someday the task becomes more palatable–so sorry about the loss of your mother

  2. Bless us o’ Lord for these thy gifts which we are about to receive from thy bounty through Christ our Lord Amen.

    • If I remember correctly I think this may have been the grace my big brothers said–Big Brother John if you are reading this–let me know if I am right

    • That is the same one that we learned & say.

      When were were in Catholic school our priest taught us this one during one of his visits to the school. I taught it to my kids too. They do know the “proper” one too though.
      Rub a dub dub
      Thanks for the grub
      YAY God
      :)

  3. We always say grace before we eat but we don’t recite a specific verse. We just talk to God, saying whatever is on our mind including thanking him for the food.

  4. I like when everyone gets a chance to say what they’re grateful for around the table.

    • me too- though my family tends to want to dig in right away–sometimes we do it before dessert

      • that’s a good time, it gives you time to digest your meal!

  5. Happy Thanksgiving.

    • thanks Audra–the turkey is in the oven–there is also one on the couch – ha ha

      • Haaaaa. Stuff em both

  6. Well, one we use was already mentioned…and sometimes we also just say what comes to mind… but another is “Make us truly thankful for this food today and all other blessings… in Jesus name”

    Lately I’ve been thinking that ‘we’ (me and husband) should be saying grace… (thanks) at other than only Thanksgiving/Christmas … not really ‘should’ but want to…. Diane

    • we say grace whenever we eat at the table–unfortunately most of the time the dining room table is used as a desk so we eat in the living room–today I cleared it off for Thanksgiving dinner–I plan to do this more often

  7. My parents never said grace when I was growing up, but hubby and I did with our kids and still do. For thanksgiving we go round the table and everyone says something they’re thankful for. We all AMEN at the end!
    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours up north!

    • thanks so much Denise–we had our big meal yesterday and I had pumpkin pie for breakfast–a good start to the day!

  8. Happy Thanksgiving

  9. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  10. Saying grace is a lovely pause that gives time to connect to others and to heaven. I like saying it, although we don’t always. But a good thing to do, I think! ~ Sheila

    • it is a nice pause–I seem to rush through it so everyone can eat–but I am still glad we do it


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

