Something stupid…………

Scan of Bad to the Bone cigar band

Bad to the Bone cigar band (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 A favourite word of mine is “Stupid”. Not because I like being stupid, but because the word covers a multitude of things. I do not swear (often) so I use the word stupid instead. I use the word stupid like most people swear because I was once told that I could not pull off spouting swear words. I was told that I did not look like a person who drank beer either, but luckily I shrugged that one off.

            I purchased a birthday card for a friend (Rhonda if you are reading this you must stop now) that is really stupid, but I just love it. On the front of the card is a picture of a bull dog who is saying “I want you to have a Happy Birthday”. That is not the stupid part. When you open the card, the words inside say: “You got a problem with that?” Now I would have written “You got a bone to pick with me about that?”  But since I do not make my millions writing for Hallmark I will let that one go. That is not the stupid part either.

            Now here is the stupid part—it is one of those musical cards and when you open it, the song “Bad to the Bone” growls out melodically at you. I just love it. And admittedly it is stupid. And if we don’t get together for a birthday lunch for Rhonda soon and I give her the card, I am afraid that the song will be played out by the time she gets it. It seems I just cannot resist opening the card randomly during the day and listening to “Bad to the Bone.”

            If you happen to be interested, “Bad to the Bone” was written by George Thorogood in 1981 and performed by George and his mighty band, “The Destroyers”. For your further edification, here are the lyrics to the first verse and chorus:

On the day that I was born…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………… The nurses all gathered ’round
And they gazed in wide wonder
At the joy they had found
The head nurse spoke up
Said “leave this one alone”
She could tell right away
That I was bad to the bone

Bad to the bone
Bad to the bone
B-B-B-B-Bad
B-B-B-B-Bad
B-B-B-B-Bad
Bad to the bone

 Okay, enough of that stupidity. I have collected a number of “Quotes about Stupid” from the Goodreads site for your reading pleasure—hope one hits your funny bone (see what I did there—but if I have to point it out…):

  1. From that infamously wise man known as George Carlin: “Here’s all you have to know about men and women: women are crazy, men are stupid. And the main reason women are crazy is that men are stupid.” (Now this may seemingly be politically incorrect, but hey, a man said it—and I don’t mind being called crazy.)

 2. Now this next one, attributed to author John Green, is a little more subtle, but stupid all the same: “I figured something out. The future is unpredictable.”

 3. Bertrand Russell made this observation: “The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are so certain of themselves, but wiser men are full of doubts.” Quite philosophical our Mr. Russell was, and I am certain he was not one to suffer fools gladly, but I could be wrong.

4. Victor Hugo said something I am not so sure I agree with. He said: “An intelligent hell would be better than a stupid paradise.” Not to put too fine a point on it, but if you are in hell, do you really care if it is intelligent? Just asking.

5. And my favourite is this one, by a man after my own heart, John Green (remember you met him in number 2?) who seems to swears like I do: “Crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, crap, stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid, stupid, crap,….”

What is your favourite word you use instead of cursing?

Published in: on July 29, 2013 at 5:01 pm  Comments (25)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/something-stupid/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

25 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I used to listen to the song “Something Stupid” when I was a kid. It was an old song. Frank Sinatra singing, “and then I go and spoil it all by saying something stupid like I love you…” Some stupid stuff you gotta love. :)

    • I tried to use his album cover as an illustration but my whole post went crazy–sometimes I still don’t have a handle on things–guess I am just stupid about some things (see what I did there?)

  2. I use a quaint old word… pizzlerot! Not sure there were ever any songs about pizzlerot.

    AV

    • I love that word–I may just adopt it when stupid is just not enough

      • I also have a tendency to throw in an odd bollocks or codswallop… feel free to adopt them, they just roll perfectly off the tongue.

      • good words!

  3. “What is your favourite word you use instead of cursing?”
    Me, I often don’t bother wuith “instead”; just an old reprobate, me. (Tho’ I’m working on it. Honest.)

  4. My girls once told me I used a particular word,( sounds a bit like shoot….I think you know the word I mean) a bit too often, so now of course, I say ” Shoot.”. Just doesn’t have the same ring, does it?

  5. I just love that George Carlin quotation (though of course it does not apply to the lovely Mr S!)

    I love to use the phrase ‘spawny eyed wazzock’ of someone about whom I might swear if that were my wont, which it ain’t!

    Had a fabulous time away but missed my blogger friends! It’s good to be back! :)

    • Glad you are back — “spawny eyed wazzock” eh–would not want to get on your bad side – ha ha

  6. I don’t have a favorite go-to word, I make them up as I go. I have to be very careful what I make up as the little ones like to repeat them and even if not swearing, they don’t always sound right coming out of a child’s mouth (when out of context).

    Love George Thorogood, that song came out when my boys were young, people would laugh as they would sing this song at the top of their lungs while I did my grocery shopping. At first I tried to get them to do it quietly, but after realizing the other customers were laughing I figured it was free entertainment and better than a screaming child.

    • I love that you make up words as you go–
      Would love to hear “Bad to the Bone” out of little mouths–how cute and incongruent

  7. I’m so lame – I habitually say “oh come on” – powerful stuff huh?

  8. I say “Golly gosh and darn it!”…oh who am I kidding? I’m afraid I curse with proper curse words that I wouldn’t tarnish your blog with! I don’t mean all the time, and certainly it depends on the company I’m with, but I do come out with them now and again if I’m pushed!…I’m so ashamed…

    • ha ha ha — on occasion I have said things that would tarnish my blog–but it is pretty rare

  9. I have to admit that I spent so many years watching my mouth when the kids were little, that now I just let loose and curse when I feel like it LOL :).

  10. Dang is my favorite if I don’t really want to curse! And I do try not to, but I’m not always successful. I, of course, don’t curse at work – very unprofessional, but in polite company, I most often use Dang.

    • I like that–just strong enough to make a statement yet still good for polite company

  11. Holy Dave Allen. Long story but Dave Allen was an Irish comedian with a silly show in the UK. He drank and smoked the whole way through and I have always associated him with his swearing so if I need to I say Holy Dave Allen.

    • I love that, I may just adopt it but use someone I associate with swearing as a swear word or two – brilliant

      • Yes, someone you can visualise. People will look at you funny though.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

