Cherry Salsa

Cherry Macro

Cherry Macro (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Fresh Cherry Salsa

 1 1/2 lbs. cherries, pitted and roughly chopped

1/2 cup minced red onion

2 tbsp. lemon juice

1 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

2 tsp. honey

1/4 tsp. salt 

Mix all ingredients together well. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap or a lid. Refrigerate until serving time.

(at least a couple of hours for flavours to marinate)

Serve over grilled chicken or pork tenderloin or veal chops.

I received this recipe from a friend of mine who knows my skill set when it comes to cooking (below average) and she sends me recipes that she knows I am capable of carrying out. She always prefaces a recipe with the words “Dave can do it” referring to her spouse. I am no longer fooled by this phrase, which once comforted me, because now I know Dave’s skill set when it comes to cooking is a few steps higher than mine–but this cherry salsa sounds wonderful and so I am going to try it for two reasons:

1. my husband loves cherries

2. I love cherries

Now, tell me, does this not sound just too good not to make? What seasonal fruit, berry, or veggie do you love the most?

Published in: on July 27, 2013 at 1:53 pm  Comments (19)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/cherry-salsa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yumm!

  2. I’ve been eating my weight in cherries these past couple of months. Cherries just make me happy (and possibly a little bloated). This certainly looks interesting. I never would have thought of putting cherries and onions together. Have you tried it at your friend’s house?

    • No, but I like onions with anything (pretty well)–when I posted this I thought of you–it sounds like a Heidi recipe for some reason

      • Probably because it meets my quick and easy criteria. And it contains cherries. I’ve probably mentioned my obsession with cherries.

      • sure, let us chalk it up to my good memory (lol)

  3. Yum! I love cherries too. This sounds delish!

  4. I have read recently that cherries are good for you, can’t remember in what way, but it had me looking fro cherries in the supermarket. I love cherries, I don’t recall seeing them often in Brazil.

    Sounds like something different for your white meats.

    AV

    • it does sound different but good! It is interesting that they are not common in Brazil

  5. Yum!!

    • It does sound good (and easy) doesn’t it–I suggested to another blog friend that we all make it and compare notes!

  6. […] Cherry Salsa (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]

  7. This really looks fabulous! I would have never, ever thought of cherry salsa. (We tried grapefruit salsa this winter. Can’t recall the recipe but it had avocados, too.) My favorite fruit right now is strawberries. Because they’re local and so sweet.

    • our strawberries are done–we are into raspberries and corn and soon tomatoes

  8. This looks delicious! Love pineapple and mango salsa, but have not had cherry! ~ Sheila


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 617 other followers

