Be Astonished

This was posted on the blog by Barefoot Baroness today and I thought I would steal it. She is a gentle while strong soul who bleeds compassion and authenticity.

It is a quote from Mary Oliver and I think a great recipe for life from her “Instructions for Living”:

“Pay attention.

Be astonished.

Tell about it.”

It inspired me, how about you?

Published in: on July 16, 2013 at 12:28 pm  Comments (16)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/be-astonished/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have that quote in my journal (along with some others that I refer to on a regular basis)…”Be astonished” – it forces your attention!!

  2. Im always astonished when something that I try works out. And then I write it down. :)

  3. I am learning even more that it’s possible to be astonished by very simple things. Like the fan blowing on you when it’s hot. Love that advice!

  4. It inspired me to keep seeing the wonder in parts of life I sometimes just take for granted :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    P.S. To prepare for my exams now I won’t be commenting for around 4 weeks – See you in a month my friend :)

  5. I paid attention during an office meeting today and was absolutely astonished how ignorant some people can be towards the people who write their paycheck each week! Whiny little bitches LOL!!

    • some people cannot see beyond their own noses and concerns–I think it is acquired with maturity–but some never get there–I remember office dynamics–it drove me to be freelance

  6. Good.

  7. I want to say again how much I appreciate you Lou, our friendship, and all that you share.
    You are truly someone who I think of as a positive influence in my life and your blog posts are like the periodicals I use to count on for such guidance in this life’s journey, but this was before the Internet.
    Now there s your beautiful e-zine like blog ~
    BIG HUGS today.. sent your way ~

  8. Words to live by. Can i write about it at the pub, though?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 630 other followers

