Elixir of Life

Coffee day

Coffee day (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I Googled “elixir of life” this morning and these are the two quotes that showed themselves:

“Coffee makes us severe, and grave and philosophical.” ~ Jonathan Swift

This explains why I have only one cup of coffee in the morning (and generally only drink the top half). A modicum of severity (harshness) and gravity (serious solemnity) goes a long way. I could use a jolt in the philosophical nature of things though, so I hope my half cup provides me with a little theoretical logic to deeply think myself through the day. I do not want to get lost in thought though, then I would not make my bed (oh, that’s right I don’t make my bed, as I do not find it deeply logical to make up a bed I am only going to tear apart in a few hours—this high mindedness is sometimes called laziness.)

The second is taken almost entirely out of context, but on its own is powerful and exactly how I operate:

“Obey me and I will be your servant; free me and I will be your friend. Enslave me and I am a dangerous enemy; command me and I will make you mad….” ~ Patrick Harpur

Do you have a favourite quote that speaks to you?

Published in: on July 13, 2013 at 10:28 am  Comments (29)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/13/elixir-of-life/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

29 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I need more coffee …for no reason other than the fact that I shouldn’t even be responding considering how little in my head is making sense at the moment – Dorothy Parker commenting on the birth of someone’s baby – “We always knew she had it in her”. Certainly not a coda for life, but perhaps a smile for the morning.

    • sometimes when we make no sense to ourselves, we really make lots of sense–I call this processing–ha ha
      love Dorothy Parker–when I was younger I tried to be Parker-ish but failed miserably

      • Me too – I’m not quick-witted enough – but I love her writing..
        And processing – yeah, that’s what I’m doing processing (you’re way too good to me).

      • you are my twin after all–I know what you are thinking–

      • Laughing! xo

      • :)

  2. I have many favourite quotes. As a matter of fact, I have started a list of my favourite quotes on my tablet. Here are two of them:

    “Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree it will live its whole life believing it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

    “Do not wait untill the conditions are perfect to begin. Beginning makes the conditions perfect.” – Alan Cohen

    • love both those quotes and I take both of them to heart–it is like Einstein and Cohen were talking to me!

      • I have spent hours some nights just googling famous quotes. There are some truly inspiring ones out there. My favourite, though, are quotes about books and reading.

  3. Pretence is hard, while genuine is constant.

  4. I got stuck when you said you only drink half of your cup of coffee. Whoa! That first morning cup of coffee for me is special…. and good to the last drop. :)

  5. My favorite quotes are everything Ralph Waldo Emerson said in pretty much his entire life.

  6. I don’t make my bed either as I’m always in it! But I love when my husband makes it!

  7. I’m sure I do.. but right now my brain is not ‘engaged’ and I can’t think of a single one… probably about 2 am I’ll think of something…Diane

  8. “The reason I talk to myself is because I’m the only one whose answers I accept.” – George Carlin (I love that guy).

    This one speaks to me about speaking to myself. :)

  9. I think Mark Twain said, “There are lies, damn lies and statistics.” Funny and true!

    • one of my favourite books at university was from a first year psychology course that everybody and their dog took–it was called “How to Lie with Statistics”

  10. I like that quote. I also like “My life is measured in coffee spoons,” by T.S Elliot. Coffee is such a joy. LOL I might need more things in my life.

    • coffee is such a part of our lives and is with us every important step of the way–I think it is a good way to measure life

  11. I’m glad to say I’m impervious ( I think) to the bad effects of coffee and drink it with impunity – and brown sugar!

    • my parents could drink coffee at any time of the day or night so they must have been impervious to some of its effects too

  12. […] Elixir of Life (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 614 other followers

