My version of BAM!

Name my Peas

Peas–not for breakfast anymore! (Photo credit: doolloop)

Yes, I know it is Monday and not Recipe day but on Saturday night I went to a dinner party and this was one of the side dishes and I just loved it, so I asked the hostess with the mostest to send it to me.

 Now be forewarned—it has more than the five requisite ingredients that I usually judge a recipe by ~ but salt, sugar, and pepper are not too exotic, nor are onions and peppers and peas. And who doesn’t love mayo and sour cream? Seriously, this is one good salad, and by adding the nuts you have then ramped it up a bit—adding the Emeril BAM! factor, along with the bacon. (Everything tastes better with bacon.)

 So, without further ado, here is the recipe:

Cold Pea Salad

4 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled

3/4 cup sour cream

1/8 cup mayonnaise

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt 

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 bag (20 oz.) of frozen sweet peas thawed and dried off

1/2 cup diced celery

1/3 cup of diced red onion or green onions

1/4 cup of diced green, red or yellow pepper

1/2 cup of cashews or pecan or walnut halves roughly broken

Method:

Cook the bacon, crumble and set aside.

Beat the sour cream with the mayonnaise to loosen it, adding the sugar, salt and pepper; set aside.

In a medium mixing bowl, add the peas, celery, onions and peppers.

Add the sour cream mixture, toss, cover and refrigerate until ready to serve. Just before serving, toss in the nuts.

Make this and tell me I am a genius for having shared it!

Published in: on July 8, 2013 at 6:11 pm  Comments (26)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/my-version-of-bam/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

26 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds totally yummy!!!

  2. Gonna make it this weekend….sounds delicious!

  3. That does sound good – and just in time. Our peas should be ready soon. I’ll give it a try. Anything with peas, bacon and cashews has got to be good.

    • Heidi – I think you will love it — I was surprised at how good it it and with fresh peas–to die for!

  4. A cold pea salad sounds so refreshing :D

    Cheers
    CCU

  5. Sorry LouAnn, I just have to say this – ewwwwwwwwww peas!!! LOL :)

  6. I would love this… all ingredients I really like.. Diane

  7. sounds yummy and I like its easy!
    Thank you for sharing Lou….
    Take care…
    )0(

  8. Thank you. I love peas.

  9. I’m all for it, except for the peas. Not sure what it is, but if you put them in my mouth I immediately spit them out. And don’t try hiding them in my mashed potatoes. To this day i still hunt for them.

    • I always hate it when people try to hide unpleasant veggies in my potatoes–my mom used to put turnip in mashed potatoes and that just ruined them for me–I usually liked what she made but not this one

  10. Sounds like a perfect summer salad!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

