Happy 4th of July to my American Friends and Neighbours

The friendship that Canada has with the United States is one that overcomes petty jealousies, comparisons, and squabbles. When someone says something is distinctly Canadian or very American they are reflecting the truth, but superficially.

Americans and Canadians are not the same. Yet in so many ways they are. I celebrate our friendship and the following quotes seem very àpropos to our relationship:

“Friendship is born of that moment when one person says to another: “What! You too? I thought I was the only one!” ~ C. S. Lewis

Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh?” he whispered. “Yes, Piglet.” “Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s hand. “I just wanted to be sure of you.” ~ A.A. Milne

“A friend is one that knows you as you are, understands where you have been, accepts what you have become, and still, gently allows you to grow.” ~ William Shakespeare

I live about 30 miles from the Windsor-Detroit border; I went to university with many Americans and count some of them as my best friends; I wish all of you a Happy 4th and let us celebrate our similarities and bask in our differences—that is what makes us both interesting!

Peace Arch Park - 26

(Photo credit: David Chilstrom)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/04/happy-4th-of-july-to-my-american-friends-and-neighbours/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well said Lou!

  2. Beautifully said to all American friends :D
    Happy 4th to them all!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. There are a few differences between our countries but they are very slight imo. I always enjoyed visiting Canada and felt right at home. My grandfather always wanted to relocate to Canada when he retired. He said Canadians had more respect for their country because you didn’t see litter everywhere. He could be found outside all times of the day picking up litter tossed from cars. He never moved as my grandmother didn’t want to be that far from family and friends.

  4. They truly are our best ‘friends and neighbors’… Diane

  5. Back at ‘cha, neighbor. When I’ve visited Canada, people have always been friendly. I love that.

    • and when I have visited the States people have been wonderful though they think I am the one with the accent


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 603 other followers

