a summer frame of mind

Summer Shoes

Summer Shoes (Photo credit: Klearchos Kapoutsis)

A good part of the first half of this year I spent looking for and at times finding my bliss. The second half of 2013 is going to be used to put that bliss to work. It will be a challenge.  All kinds of things enter into the mix—but I hope in the end I will come up with a lovely batter and not a lumpy mess.

Join me in my journey to add some lovely moments to days that will have some ugly elements; days when a little poetry will be needed to fight off the drama; days when a little Mike’s hard lemonade relaxes the stresses.

July and August, in all their glory, hot and humid at times, breezy and warm at others, lay before us. It is the height of summer and this year I am going to enjoy the two months I most dread. While others glory in the heat, I am a temperate kind of girl—but I am going to embrace my younger self and enjoy what summer has to offer.  The calendar is filled with barbeques, little weekend getaways, and perhaps a trip to Ottawa and the Kingston area to see my sister and brother. I am not sure what the summer will bring—but I have my sunscreen and shorts on—so I am ready.

Like many of you, just because it is summer—it does not mean we do not have a lot of work to do. I am more determined than ever to find a balance. Sometimes I get in a holiday frame of mind and find that work just does not fit into the equation—but I am going to work it into the sum total of a successful summer.

What are your summer plans? How do you get your vacation frame of mind under control to get your work done?

Published in: on July 2, 2013 at 1:02 pm  Comments (36)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/a-summer-frame-of-mind/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

36 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah … to be as organised and clear as you, LouAnn – my plans are now plates spinning in different directions – my summer plans are … let’s say … in a state of flux … good luck with your summer x

    • I love being called organized–but I am more determined than organized–I tend to dread the hot months–this year I want to embrace them — sometimes, Polly, as state of flux brings adventure…..

  2. Summer is always a busier time for me – growing a vegetable garden, dealing with the weeds that crop up in the rest of the yard, hiking in our beautiful mountains, but I love it all. We’re taking a road trip to Taos, NM for the 4th and looking forward to that! I think I actually get more work done when I’m busier with all those other things. Not quite sure how that works, but it seems to. Maybe because I sleep less with the longer days?

    • they do say if you want something done give it to a busy person–have fun on your road trip–I love road trips

  3. Hey, you should have come to Kingston with us this past weekend. We had a blast! Just imagine the trouble we could have gotten into :). And I have never been to Ottawa – can you believe that??

    As for summer, I am one of those ones who thrives on every moment of heat and sunshine! I plan to completely ignore my house and all of the associated chores and spend as much time outside as possible because before you know it we will be shoveling again. BOO HOO!

    • I think you have a wonderful summer plan–some day I plan on dropping by and joining you outside

  4. My life is not as busy being ‘senior’ so I can decide easier when I want to do any work around the house… I leave it for another day if I want to… Diane

  5. Beach, pool, church, time with God, time with family, and time for others. That’s my summer in a nutshell! I’m sure that your batter will be wonderful! Sandy

  6. Love that you have BBQs all organised! We hope for some sunshine and we hope for some family visitors. Getting a visa for our Senegalese daughter-in-law is proving very difficult. Everyone will visit if she and D can come over.

  7. Out here in the cornfields of the Midwest, it’s more like “getting our working frame of mind under control in order to enjoy a day off here and there”.
    Hoping to spend a day at Lake Erie to visit with niece and her family. My grandaughter and I are heading to Portland OR for a week soon to visit my daughter.
    Other than that hoping to corral the farmer to enjoy some Saturday nights on the patio with food, friends, and music.
    Around here Impromptu trumps planned vacations.

    • yes this is your very busy time of year I expect–hope you can grab a few of those nights with food friends and music–impromptu trumps planned anyday!

  8. Nothing planned. Just day to day things that never change. I’m not a vacation person so it does not enter my mind to be geared for a vacation.None the less I like reading what you’ve written here and also the comments.

  9. I’m so easy to please. Just the fact that it’s summer calms me down & keeps me at ease. :)

  10. Haha my plans are to study study study until my summer down under starts, but thats ok ;)
    You sound so organised and ready for your summer season!

    Cheers
    CCU

  11. You know, I decided not to make plans this year. Like you, we had a couple of impromptu dinners with guests this weekend – no house cleaning needed. I hope to fill the summer with more of those, some swimming, maybe a trip to the island cottage and some garden preserving (but I wont be too hard on myself if I don’t get it all “done”. Oh yeah, there is a little trip to see the Eagles this weekend too (and yes, that makes me feel old).

  12. I can’t seem to get into a summer frame of mind at all. Seems like my pace has been on speed dial all of a sudden. I wish I could hit the brakes! Help!!

  13. Ottawa? Woot, woot!!! :)

  14. “Sometimes I get in a holiday frame of mind and find that work just does not fit into the equation—but I am going to work it into the sum total of a successful summer.”
    You and me both, Lou Ann, you and me both. Although I’m back home now, I’m still doing work remotely for my company and (as Murphy’s Law would have it) I’m busier now than I was when I was still physically going to work every day. BUT like you said, I’m determined to make this work and also enjoy myself at the same time. I also plan on doing some personal projects on the side to keep myself both productive and happy. Here’s to a good summer ahead of us! And I’ll have a bottle of that hard lemonade if you don’t mind. ;)

    • Nice to know others are going through things similar to me–and I will have the bottle ready–I put it in the freezer for about an hour so it is steaming cold (ha ha)

  15. “Sometimes I get in a holiday frame of mind and find that work just does not fit into the equation—but I am going to work it into the sum total of a successful summer.” –> Completely feeling this myself as well. Even though I’m home now, I’m still doing work remotely for my company and (as Murphy’s Law would have it) am busier than I was before when I was still physically at the company. But like you said, I’m determined to make the summer a good one by working hard and playing hard. I also plan on doing some personal projects on the side to keep me both productive and happy. Here’s to a good summer ahead of us! And I’ll have a bottle of that hard lemonade if you don’t mind. ;)

    • Dang it, this showed up as a duplicate comment. Sorry!

  16. It’s still winter here so it’s nice to read about others summer adventures.

  17. It sounds as though you intend to make the most of your summer, in spite of the heat. In a few weeks, I’ll be going from our lovely mild winter to an English summer. I wonder what it will be like. English weather is very unpredictable. :)

    • we have had a tremendous amount of rain lately and it is supposed to continue into next week–we are getting a reprieve today

  18. Shorts? Sunscreen? I wish.. Summer simply refuses to arrive here in SW Virginia. It rained all day today. Yesterday was no better. Tonight there are supposed to be hot air balloon rides for the 4th of July opening events – ha! It’s pouring rain. Wonder if the fireworks will happen tomorrow night. Ah well. “Into each life some rain must fall” – but so much? :)

    • we have had a lot of rain too – but our weather is back to being hot again–we had a couple of days reprieve

  19. With June already gone, I need to figure that balance thing out soon :-)!

  20. Summer for me means being outdoors as much as possible. I love sitting in the sun or under a shady tree. It doesn’t matter what I am doing the outdoors makes everything right.

  21. […] a summer frame of mind (onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

