A Saturday Thought or Two…….

consumerism

consumerism (Photo credit: the|G|™)

“One of our most popular activities has become the acquisition of things. In our consumer society, feelings of depression, meaninglessness, and despair are widespread. These feelings can be reflective of what’s missing in our society. We often lack gratitude for all the things, material and immaterial available to us. Changing our perspective, so that we enjoy and focus on what we already have, we feel better. This enables us to have more compassion and understanding for those who have less than we do. Usually we only become aware of our good fortune when there’s a threat of losing it due to illness, old age, death or conflict.” ~ Annabelle Zinser, Small Bites-Mindfulness for Everyday Use

Published in: on June 29, 2013 at 3:40 pm  Comments (22)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/a-saturday-thought-or-two/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Words that are so true. Many, many people have written about gratitude and in fact I have what I think is an original quote for I’ve not seen it before but come to think of it, I think I’ll go to Google and research gratitude. My quote will be among others of my own in a future post. But I might not ever publish this post. It’ll just sit over there feeling more draft. :-) These are just life lessons expressed in one or two lines.

    NIce post Lou Ann.

  2. Lovely quote, Lou Ann.

    “When we give cheerfully and accept gratefully, everyone is blessed.”
    ~ Maya Angelou

  3. That’s a great quote. We suddenly stopped our consumerist ways about 4 years ago when my husband was laid off from a great job. At first it felt like we were missing out on something, but our attitude started to change after a while and now we consciously try to consume less and like life better. We are definitely more grateful and appreciative of what we have.

    • We had to do the same thing a few years ago when a lawsuit threatened our livelihood — it was hard at first, then it wasn’t–and it does make you grateful for the better times and what we have

  4. This was perfect to find today. After too many take out meals this week. I am feeling sluggish. How fortunate we are to be able to afford to eat takeout while moving even if it hasn’t been the best choice, for me at least. Since simplifying my life I have noticed how overworked so many people are.

  5. Everyone these days is guilty of consumerism, it is sad that we can’t focus on better, simpler loves in life :/ – To each his own though I suppose, we can make ourselves better at least!

    Cheers
    CCU

    • that is really what we have control over–ourselves–it is trying to control others where we run into trouble (speaking from experience here)–I find when I am stressed I buy food

  6. This is a truly inspirational quote and should be posted on my wall! Finding gratitude for what we have is the pathway to contentment.

  7. Very wise. I want to keep working at changing my perspective, keeping it on what’s important and not on what it immaterial. Thank you. Hope you are enjoying your weekend.

  8. The quote is wonderful. It is so important to keep things in perspective.

  9. Sorry, it’s me being controversial here. Again. You must get sick of me.

    It’s a bit anodyne, isn’t it? Annabelle certainly doesn’t come across as even remotely profound or insightful.
    I await the flaming from your Followers, Lou Ann

    • nope, she is saying what has been said many times before–but I need to hear it every once in a while to remind me to be grateful

      • I have some fairly unusual aspects to my lifestyle. People often ask me how i cope with so little. My stock answer is, ‘It could be worse, couldn’t it?’ I’m a big fan of that idea.

      • good attitude!

  10. I’m sorry, I don’t have time to read this, I’m heading to the mall ;) Will be back with bags and bags of crap that I have no room for.

  11. […] have talked a lot about the problems associated with a consumer lifestyle, but nothing I have ever said hits home like […]

  12. Reblogged this on Minimalist Bride and commented:
    This is wonderful. Often times we forget to appreciate the things we have been blessed with, be it family, friends, or even a bed in which to sleep.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

