Writing Wednesday is Back and Inspired by Carl Sagan

In order to create Carl Sagan from scratch...

(Photo credit: lawndart)

“What an astonishing thing a book is. It’s a flat object made from a tree with flexible parts on which are imprinted lots of funny dark squiggles. But one glance at it and you’re inside the mind of another person, maybe somebody dead for thousands of years. Across the millennia, an author is speaking clearly and silently inside your head, directly to you. Writing is perhaps the greatest of human inventions, binding together people who never knew each other, citizens of distant epochs. Books break the shackles of time. A book is proof that humans are capable of working magic. ~ Carl Sagan

books

books (Photo credit: brody4)

Magic ~ something I have long been looking for and it has been right there in front of me all along. Sagan is right–books are magic—and they are a magic that is available to everyone!

This quote has to be my all time, hands down, forever and always, FAVOURITE. It speaks to my very core. Sagan says exactly what I believe about books—that thay transcend time; that they are a conversation that never ends; and they are the very thing that “binds us together” and are “proof that humans are capable of working magic.”

I found the quote on one of my favourite blogs mybeautfulthings, and I have to thank her profusely for providing this inspiration. Many times I think writers wonder what the point is– if adding another book to the number that are already out there is worthwhile—but Sagan answers these questions beautifully.

Books put you “inside the mind of another person” and by doing so give comfort, teach you something, and provide you with another point of view, or one that agrees with what you already think.

I am inspired now to keep writing,….

What inspires you?

Published in: on June 26, 2013 at 1:06 pm  Comments (40)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://onthehomefrontandbeyond.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/writing-wednesday-is-back-and-inspired-by-carl-sagan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

40 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am inspired when I hear others speak of their triumphs of tragedy, illness or other challenge… It reminds me of things we take for granted every day and it also says that the human spirit can overcome and even grow from these things….Diane

    • that is a wonderful inspiration and you inspire me with your lovely spirit and determination to get through even the toughest of times

  2. I love this quote, too, LouAnn. Thanks so much for sharing it. I so agree that books are proof that humans can work magic. I’d say, these days, that the blogging and the internet are also proof. The creativity that abounds here amazes and delights me and inspires me to go deeper into my art.

    • I agree with you – there is a lot of creativity on these blogs and blogging gives us an opportunity to get heard and to hear

  3. As they say, “nothing better than a good book.”

  4. Oh LouAnn this has just become my new favourite quote of all time :). It speaks to my soul! I think I will type it out, print it out, and put it above my desk here at work so I can read it all the time.

    • photographers are also “bringers of the light”–so you hit on both with your pics and writing
      I too am going to put the quote where I can read it

      • Thanks LouAnn. That made me feel really good :). I now have the quote on the wall in front of me – it’s just perfect! I think I might make a copy for at home too.

  5. I am inspired by many – by my Dad who was a brilliant writer of books for children, by my Mum who was a gifted teacher of deaf babies and children, by my friend of 30 years, Kath, who always saw the best in everyone and whose death set me off on my blog and by quotations such as this one we have shared.

    I agree with Cathy, too, that many bloggers inspire me too.

    All the best to you :)

  6. Just last night I was inspired by a student who is in the GED prep class. He printed an essay and brought it to me for review. He is working hard to achieve a goal that so many people take for granted. He wants to teach his child (currently an infant) to make the most out of life. Literacy is truly a gift. We forget that sometimes. I am inspired to give my very best to those students because they are refusing to allow circumstances keep them from reaching their full potential.

    • It is a shame that so many of us take for granted what others have to work hard for–your work sounds important

      • I assure you Lou Ann, it is not my work that is important. It’s my privilege to serve my community. Helping others help themselves is as rewarding to me as earning a paycheck.

      • I admire you on so many different levels Honie

      • Oh, the pressure!
        Seriously, Lou Ann, thank you.

      • no pressure at all – just keep doing what you have been doing–anyone who reads your blog knows that you stand up for those that need standing up for

  7. ‘A book is proof that humans are capable of working magic’ – that is so beautiful my friend, and so inspiring :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  8. That’s an awesome quote, and I totally agree. Greatest human invention.

  9. This was a much-needed reminder so thank you for sharing this! What inspires me? People who work hard to make their dreams come true and who don’t settle for anything less. The first part is rather cliche but the second part is what makes all the difference, I think. Cheers to renewed inspiration all around!

  10. Books inspire me. I have hoards and hoards of them. So many that most are packed away in favour of leaving space for the toys my kids have now filled my life with. But when they grow up and the toys are gone, books will again take their place.

    • I remember decorating when I my kids were little–it was a whole different ball game

  11. LouAnn: I’m with you. And I think this is why I haven’t been able to make the move to electronic books so easily. I really do need to snuggle up with one, bend corners, highlight, make comments in the margins. For me, there is a relationship between the writer and the reader in the book — and when it is electronic, it is one degree less intimate. But yes, it is magic. Absolutely.

    And thanks for coming to my place today.

    Even if I can’t seem to pop out a book of my own, I still love to read those books! ;)

    • I have not made the move either though I can see they would making travelling with something to read easier–I love checking out your blog–so even if you have to produce stream of consciousness your faithful readers will be kep happy

  12. My inspirations are many! My Dad who was a successful writer, my Mum who was a gifted teacher of the deaf, my friend of 30 years, Kath, who inspired this blog and the beauty I see all around me.

    I also have to agree with Cathy – many wonderful bloggers also give me inspiration.

    All the best to you and thank you

  13. That is a truly wonderful quote, I have sometimes wondered why I’m writing and hoping to add yet another book to the millions already available. Other people’s life stories inspire me, particularly when they’re about someone overcoming the odds to achieve a personal goal.

    • there can never be too many books–in fact I would to get your book and explore your country–it is the country of some of my ancestors

      • Ah, interesting, do you know which bit(s) of Scotland they were from?

      • the name is Crawford and I had a cousin visit years ago-and come home and tell us what she found, but I cannot recall now where she found the Crawfords

      • Perhaps Lanarkshire? There’s a village there called Crawford, and there used to be a Crawford Castle but it’s just a ruin now. I daresay there are Crawfords all over Scotland, it’s certainly a name I’ve come across quite a bit.

      • I will find out–there go my dreams of being left a castle in Scotland

      • Bits of it are still there but I’m afraid it needs some work.

      • Find me a wealthy Crawford – ha ha

      • If I come across one I’ll be sure to get his number. :-)

      • assuming he/she will be a relative–make sure they are old and have no one to leave their money to–(I am just kidding…)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 621 other followers

